Small form factor MB with enough power to play HDtv

Discussion in 'Mainboards / CPU / RAM' started by BeLLe, July 6, 2011.

  1. BeLLe

    BeLLe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Right now my HTPC have a Point Of View - ION330 mainboad but i can't get it play HD Live tv with Mediaportal. (it works fine in WMC) Have tried for +6 months without any luck and read more than once in here that the Intel Atom 330/dualcore 1,6GHz just isn't enough to do HDtv with MP



    So Now I'm looking for another mainboard for my HTPC and then this will act as TV server in the future.
    But what to get? It have to be small form factor or else it wont fit in the cabinet and need to be powerfull enough to play everything smoothly

    Also - What brand of SSD should I get for it?

    all suggestions are welcome :D
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi BeLLe

    If you've tried for 6+ months then I'm sure you would have confirmed that you're using the ION for hardware accelerated video decoding.
    A mini ITX board from Zotac with your choice of Intel/AMD CPU should work...

    mm
     
  4. BeLLe

    BeLLe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I've tried every codec I could get my hands on with dxva or cuda support but nothing have worked.
    I'll have a look at the Zotac boards
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    What were the symptoms?
    - no video (black screen)
    - jerky video
    - video corruption/pixelation
    - ???
     
  6. glenn 1990

    glenn 1990 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 1, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Output resolution 720p?? , this is working fine on my ion 330.
     
  7. BeLLe

    BeLLe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0

    Video have never been a problem - Only live TV. sometimes even SDTV but that very rare
    I'm running MP in single seat with win7 in 720p resolution and My TV tuner is a HDHomerun.
    Depending on the codec chosen I had all of the above problems with HDTV.

    Stuttering, black screen with audio, picture freeze, pixelation, video in slowmotion.

    tried to reinstall lost of times but it's the same every time.
    Only thing i haven't tried is to change the HDD which is a 1. generation SSD but I'm planning to do that along with the MB

    unless someone can show me how to get this to work ...
     
  8. rspierenburg

    rspierenburg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 18, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    BeLLe,

    I had that problem as well with the Hauppauge 950 I had. Turns out it wasn't the decoding that was slowing things down it was the Software 'encoders' that was causing the issues. I've since upgraded to the Hauppauge 1950 with a builtin hardware encoder, this allowed the CPU to do the MP processing and the GPU to do the decoding.

    Might be something to look into.

    Rob
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again BeLLe

    Do you think you could post logs? Its really easy if you use the watchdog. Just read the instructions in the link (-->here<--) and use the first option (report bug). When MP starts, just try to view TV. Any problems will be recorded in the logs. After about 30 seconds close MP, and the watchdog will create a zip file for you to upload here.

    mm
    :)
     
  10. BeLLe

    BeLLe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 13, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Thanks for take the time to look at my problem.

    I attached the logs. It actually acted somewhat nice when everything was disabled in debug mode although there still was major framedrops.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!