[SOLVED] The used codec is different from the one set in the configuration (PowerDVD)

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by axlt2002, March 3, 2014.

  1. axlt2002

    axlt2002 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Hello All,

    To watch live TV I have set PowerDVD codec for both standard and HD transmissions. With a big surprise, using GraphStudioNext, I discovered that instead of PowerDVD codec the Windows DVD-DVB codec is instead used (I don't know why I made such test!!!!!). I have then made a try with LAV codecs and all is working perfectly. Summurizing:

    - LAV selected in TV settings -> LAV used while playing the channel
    - Microsoft DVD-DVB selecetd in TV settings -> Microsoft DVD-DVB used while playing the channel
    - PowerDVD13 selecetd in TV settings -> Microsoft DVD-DVB used while playing the channel!!!!

    Something wrong with the last but...what? If needed, I will post the logs (not early since I'm actually outside for a business trip). For now, just to know if someone else has the same issue. Thanks! :)




    Just edited the post and the title since the issue happens also for the videos and not only for the TV (I suppose it happens also for the other formats).

    Please find attached two screens displaying the settings (PowerDVD codec is selected) and the Graph while playing the file (Microsoft DVD-DVB codec is used). Just for info, if I set LAV, LAV is correctly used...it seems an issue with PowerDVD codec...but which issue?

    I have attached also the logs!

    Thanks for any help!

    Settings.png
    Graph.png
     
    Last edited: March 5, 2014
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. axlt2002

    axlt2002 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Just updated the post above with new infos! o_O
     
  4. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Do you have PDVD codec installed correctly? Does this codec work in other players?
     
  5. axlt2002

    axlt2002 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs

    Attached Files:

  6. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,129 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The problem is that the PDVD video decoder is refusing the connections - note the 'failed' messages:

    Code (Text):
    1. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,319] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Filter: CyberLink Video Decoder (PDVD13) - try to connect: Video Out
    2. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,612] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - DirectShowUtil: RenderUnconnectedOutputPins Pin Video Out - failed
    3. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,613] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Filter: CyberLink Video Decoder (PDVD13) - try to connect: ~Closed Caption Out
    4. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,817] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - DirectShowUtil: RenderUnconnectedOutputPins Pin ~Closed Caption Out - failed
    5. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,818] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - Filter: CyberLink Video Decoder (PDVD13) - try to connect: ~Encode Out
    6. [2014-03-05 17:06:40,999] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [DEBUG] - DirectShowUtil: RenderUnconnectedOutputPins Pin ~Encode Out - failed
    7.  
    Do you have PDVD13 installed and licensed ?
     
  7. axlt2002

    axlt2002 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the hints!

    After one day of full immersion in different solutions, the issue has been solved thanks to the installation of SAF (http://hobring.esero.net/saf/binary/)! :cool:

    No necessity to install PowerDVD to use its codecs. I'm going to change the title of the thread removing [BUG?]...in fact nothing related to MediaPortal issues! (y)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!