[no Bug] - Stuttering... but only the first 5 minutes!

Discussion in 'MP 1.3.0 Beta & RC' started by Eggert, February 27, 2013.

  1. Eggert
    • Premium Supporter

    Eggert MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Hi,

    I have a weird stuttering problem in Mediaportal 1.3.0 RC1 (and beta also).
    In the first ~5 minutes after the start of MP there is anything that makes the mediaportal.exe using one CPU-thread at full load in random time intervals. After 5 minutes everything is just smooth as it has to be.
    It is influencing the whole program: videos/TV stutter, the menue lags,...

    When I close MP and start it again, there is the same problem.

    I tried some things like disabling plugins, changing and reinstalling codecs, ATI display drivers, disabling DVB-EPG, changing skin from Titan to another one,...

    Is there anything else I can try to find out WHAT exactly causes MP to lag this hard - what COULD it be when it appears only in the first 5 minutes after start?



    System is an intel i5 on Win7/64 with 8GB Ram, SSD and ATI graphics

    Thanks in advance!
    Eggert
     
    Last edited by a moderator: March 5, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Moved post to the correct forum.

    @Eggert: please post full debug logs (while trying to reproduce this problem) and fill in your system specs. Without logs it's only guessing what your problem is.
     
  4. Lightning303
    • Premium Supporter

    Lightning303 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  5. Eggert
    • Premium Supporter

    Eggert MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Thanks for the hint - in my case it was the moving pictures plugin. I thought I tried to disable that one... I seem to have missed it, sorry.
    Maybe it is the same searching-database-update thing at the beginning.
    Since I am not the Standby-System-User and frequently restart the whole system, I disabled this plugin and am happy now.
    Not the best solution though...

    Thanks!
    Eggert
     
  6. Lightning303
    • Premium Supporter

    Lightning303 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 12, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +578 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    mh, thats strange, for me movingpictures is making no problems at all when it is searching for new stuff, tv series on the other hand lets my system lag like crazy.
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    TNX for the feedback guys. I'll set this thread to No Bug then, since it's not MP core related.
    I use both Moving Pictures & Tv Series and don't have any issues with them, but my HTPC run on a i7-860. I assume an i5 is more than enough power to run those plugins without issues.
    I would like to suggest to mention this issue to the plugin developer, so he can look into it and see if there is anything to improve!
     
    Last edited: March 5, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DragonQ

    DragonQ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 30, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +74 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yeah I get this too but only for about 1 minute after starting MediaPortal. A few stutters here and there whilst Moving Pictures and MP-TVSeries search for new files and download artwork & info I guess. Not sure if there's a way around it - even setting MediaPortal to have higher than normal priority doesn't help.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!