Suddenly MP is unable to play anything

Discussion in 'Watch / Listen Media' started by beatnut88, July 19, 2019.

  1. beatnut88

    beatnut88 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    All of a sudden MP has developed a problem with playback. Now when I click on a file it runs thru to the end in a second and - if a video - marks it as played. If a TV recording it does the same and then immediately deletes the recording. Been running this for years.
    any help appreciated
    Logs attached.


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. beatnut88

    beatnut88 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    I guess I am alone here with this one. I have substituted VLC player and that works but not as well as I had hoped. Obviously the problem lies with the MP player but don't know what it is. Some conflict a windows update? a virus? I downloaded and did a clean install with the new beta release but that made no change.
    Nobody with any clues as to what the problem could be?
     
  4. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    712
    Ratings:
    +1,189 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi
    I'm no expert but given that VLC does work, it could be a problem with the LAV filters and/or MPs EVR, there is some support for that in the logs as follows:-

    [2019-07-18 20:13:30,673] [2121b3c8] [2184] - failed to find MediaPortal - Audio Renderer filter!
    [2019-07-18 20:13:30,673] [2121b3c8] [2184] - SetupAudioRenderer: cycleDiff: 0.0000596312
    [2019-07-18 20:13:30,673] [2121b3c8] [2184] - SetupAudioRenderer: adjust bias to : 0.9999403724 - wait audio renderer to be available

    There are lots of those but I can't say if that is a cause of the problem or a consequence!:unsure:
    I also noticed there was to me some strange stuff in the DXdiag with the Nvidia GPU driver but again not sure if that is significant.

    When you did the fresh install of 1.23pre did you also re-install the LAV filters, the default is disabled so it may be worth a try for another install with it enabled. I would also strongly recommend a really clean install, i.e. after doing a "Full MP uninstall" also uninstall MySQL and delete the Team Media Portal folder in C:/Program Data and MySQL folders in both C:/Program Files and Program Data. On re-install MP will also download and install a new MySQL.
    Hope that is of some help, please let us know how it goes.
     
  5. beatnut88

    beatnut88 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    Thanks. But now all of a sudden it works after I tried (and failed) to install MP 2 - it couldn't start the MP2 Service. Windows said the service started and then immediately stopped. Couldn't get it to start in services.msc either. Other posts recommend deleting the Program Data folder but when I was able to get MP1 back working I was loath to try anything else.
    So no idea why MP1 misbehaved in the first place but thankful it works now as VLC was not a useful replacement.
    Neil
     
  6. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Those entries in evr.log are normal (assuming you are *not* using MPAR as your Audio Renderer, which is also the normal situation).
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. beatnut88

    beatnut88 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    OK. Will have to try that as it worked for a while and then stopped again
     
  8. beatnut88

    beatnut88 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 15, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    I have changer the audio renderer from default to MP. I hope that that will get around the problem
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!