Timeshifting hardware requirements - Server vs Client? (1 Viewer)

Al Kinder

May 21, 2014
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hello I am new to using Media Portal and I would love some experienced community support.

I wanted to define where the big hardware retirements are for HD Time-shifting and 1080p decoding lies. I would assume it would be mostly at the server end if running a server/client setup, but can anyone verify that as I may be building a new server for my setup.

I have a low end HTPC that I would like to be just my client computer running a GUI interface. It is a AmD E-350/ Radeon 6310 / 4gb DDR3 setup that should be able to play 1080P fine, but I don't know if Time-shifting would cause more of a hardware tax on the client PC as well or if it is mainly all on the server PC.

Thoughts?

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Al

I wanted to define where the big hardware retirements are for HD Time-shifting and 1080p decoding lies. I would assume it would be mostly at the server end if running a server/client setup, but can anyone verify that as I may be building a new server for my setup.
    On the server side the main load is usually on the HDD. The stream from the tuner is written to the HDD by the server and read by the client(s). The more streams you timeshift/record simultaneously, the higher the load on the HDD. This is why some people favour RAM disks (or in some cases SSDs - not recommended unless you know the consequences) for timeshifting over a traditional HDD.
    If you're decrypting channels in software then you'd also have load on the CPU to consider, but otherwise there is no concept of "decoding" on the server side.