1.16.0 - Tuners lost

Discussion in 'Archive' started by lordie, May 24, 2017.

  1. lordie
    • Premium Supporter

    lordie MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 19, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Prague
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.16.0



    Description
    Hello,

    could you please help me with very annoying problem, which occured to me few days ago (suddenly)? I updated my HTPC win 10 to latest version (Creators Update) and then Mediaportal from v. 1.15.0 to 1.16.0. Updates were smooth and everything worked fine (live tv, music, films... even after sending PC to sleep and awakening). But next day it was not possible to switch live tv on. I took a look into tv server config and my tuners were marked as unknown, I deleted them expecting they re-appear, but they don't. I tried almost everything (restart tv service, whole PC, disable and reenable tuners in device manager, reinstall mediaportal), but it is always the same - tv service writes:

    [Log ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Detected new digital BDA tuner device Pinnacle RoyalTS Tuner @device:pnp:\\?\pci#ven_11bd&dev_0040&subsys_004411bd&rev_00#5&23ea0258&0&0000e3#{71985f48-1ca1-11d3-9cc8-00c04f7971e0}\{760eeb7b-132d-4d0d-917c-fb150a26169a}
    [Log ] [TVService] [DEBUG] - check type with MS NP
    [Log ] [TVService] [DEBUG] - failed to connect to MS NP
    [Log ] [TVService] [DEBUG] - check type with specific NPs
    [Log ] [TVService] [DEBUG] - failed to connect to specific NP

    At first I thought my TV card failed, but I installed MPC HC and there the both tuners are correctly detected and work perfectly fine!? I am using MP with this TV card since 2007 and never had any problem with it until now :( Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    Steps to Reproduce:
    -
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,709
    Ratings:
    +8,171 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello

    It looks like the tuner driver was updated on 21 May:
    Show Spoiler

    "21.5.2017 10:03:46";"Service Control Manager";"(0)";"Information";"Do systému byla nainstalována služba. Název služby: Pinnacle Systems RoyalTS Device Název souboru služby: \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\RoyalTS64.sys Typ služby: ovladač v režimu jádra Typ spouštění služby: spouštění na vyžádání Účet služby: ";"1073748869"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:46";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů ukončila proces přidání služby PinnacleRoyalTS pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0041&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0100E3 s následujícím stavem: 0.";"20003"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:47";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů dokončila proces instalace ovladače royalts64.inf_amd64_64917595f8b35a84\royalts64.inf pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0041&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0100E3 s následujícím stavem: 0x0.";"20001"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:47";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů ukončila proces přidání služby PinnacleRoyalTS pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0040&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0000E3 s následujícím stavem: 0.";"20003"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:48";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů dokončila proces instalace ovladače royalts64.inf_amd64_64917595f8b35a84\royalts64.inf pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0040&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0000E3 s následujícím stavem: 0x0.";"20001"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:48";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů ukončila proces přidání služby PinnacleRoyalTS pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0042&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0200E3 s následujícím stavem: 0.";"20003"
    "21.5.2017 10:03:48";"Microsoft-Windows-UserPnp";"(7005)";"Information";"Správa ovladačů dokončila proces instalace ovladače royalts64.inf_amd64_64917595f8b35a84\royalts64.inf pro ID instance zařízení PCI\VEN_11BD&DEV_0042&SUBSYS_004411BD&REV_00\5&23EA0258&0&0200E3 s následujícím stavem: 0x0.";"20001"


    Maybe the new version of the driver simply isn't compatible with MediaPortal.
    Such things can happen.
    I suggest to try going back to the driver version that you were previously using.
     
  4. lordie
    • Premium Supporter

    lordie MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 19, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Prague
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    the drivers are not updated (newer drivers don't exist for this TV card). This seems to be the time when windows were updated to Creators Update version. But then MP live TV still worked. The tuners were inactivated day after...
    Just to be sure I checked the drivers version and it is really the original one.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,709
    Ratings:
    +8,171 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I've seen different drivers that have the same version number, so to me this is unfortunately not conclusive evidence. ;)

    Have you tried reinstalling the driver and then rebooting the PC?
    I assume you also remember that TV Server won't be able to use the tuners while they're being used in other software?

    For now there's not much more that I can say except...
    In my opinion the problem is most likely one of:
    • driver problem
    • Windows BDA problem (not so likely since other software is working)
    • security software problem (over-zealous security software can cause problems like this)
    MediaPortal has not changed.
    If the tuners worked before, they can work again.
     
  6. lordie
    • Premium Supporter

    lordie MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 19, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Prague
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Well, I don't know. I gave up and completelly reinstalled HTPC. Now everything seems to work fine again even with MP 1.16.0. (but I will stay with WIN10 1607 instead of 1703).
    Anyway thanks for replies...
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,497
    Likes Received:
    4,709
    Ratings:
    +8,171 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thanks for the update. :)

    This doesn't sound like a good long term solution.
    I'm 99% sure the problem is/was outside MP, but either way, there's nothing I can do without more information.
    I suggest to make a backup then try to update to v1703 again.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!