[TV] - HD-PVR TV freezes After Channel Change When using SPDIF | Page 5

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by cwchapma, April 27, 2013.

  1. CanadianEh

    CanadianEh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hi mm,



    I think you'd be shocked at how much cable/satellite service in the USA costs - It's hard to stay under about $80/month unless you have the total basic package, and the sad thing about having many channels is that there still never appears to be anything on TV, unless you like the latest random reality show of the day. I saw ads today for a new reality show on rodeo girls.... I have no comment on how low TV has sunk lately... LOL ... anyway...

    I was doing some reconfiguring today with my system and saw the following setting in the Timeshift configuration screen:

    "Wait for unscrambled signal
    When a channel is scrambled (decrypted) the tv server will try to decrypt the tv stream as long as the tv card has a cam (see CAM enabled and present for this card). If the tv server wasn't able to tune into the channel after this time(default: 5 seconds) it will time out."

    This looks similar to what we are discussing in this thread, but I'm sure this value has no impact on the HD-PVR capture, would it?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Heh. Sky basic costs ~$46 NZD/month (~$40 USD) for 55 channels, of which 18 are free OTA or on other satellites. Only 3 of those channels are HD... and those channels are available in HD OTA for free. Have to pay extra for sport, movie and special interest channels... and you can't get these channels without paying for the basic package. It is quite ludicrous.

    LOL :ROFLMAO:

    Those timeouts (including the ones in the general section scan tab) are not fixed delays. They set an upper limit on how long TV Server will wait for a certain condition - in this case, detecting an unscrambled stream. This doesn't help for the HD-PVR because TV Server completes its channel change before the external tuner has started its channel change. In other words, TV Server changes on the current/previous channel stream. It will always immediately detect that the stream is running. The real trick would be to get it to wait for the stream to stop and restart again...

    I note that this problem only happens with S/PDIF so if you are willing, you could sacrifice the 5.1 audio for stereo...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. CanadianEh

    CanadianEh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Very true, and I agree that this is the case, however, once you go 5.1, it's really *really* hard to go back to standard stereo audio :D
     
  5. Sigpi007

    Sigpi007 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 14, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Hmm... I might have a similar issue with channel changing freezing. I have experience freezing on my singleseat server/client... And it happens to also be using SPIDF for 5.1. And while I don't have an external HDPVR, I do have an external cablecard tuner (ceton eth 6).

    In contrast, I don't experience the channel change freezing on my upstairs client only using stereo.

    I'd love to help test if something can be done.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,498
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Ratings:
    +8,175 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Sigpi007

    The freezing issue you're seeing is almost certainly nothing to do with the problem discussed in this thread. Same symptoms; different problem. I've taken a quick look at the logs you posted in the CableCARD thread. They're quite long and there are a zillion exceptions so it will take some time for me to work out exactly what is going on.

    mm
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!