TV Hesitates,Slow Motion

Discussion in 'General Support' started by David Abineri, June 28, 2016.

  1. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I am running MP 1.14.0 and most programs run fine when watching the recordings.
    Some programs, like Wimbledon today, stop and stutter and go to slow motion making it impossible to watch. This is single seat on Win 10.

    Please help if possible, Thanks, Dave


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Dave

    It looks like the recording has a glitch at the start. Have you tried simply skipping the glitch (ie. skip forward 30 seconds)?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Yes, I have 6 hours of the program and others and the problem continues throughout. And yet other programs are fine.

    It also does the strange thing of continuing the video, in parts, and repeating about 2 seconds of audio about 10 times before the audio catches up with the video.

    Any other suggestions? What would have caused the glitch you mentioned?

    Thanks, Dave
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hmmm, I'm not sure if you really answered my question.

    To be clear...
    I've told you there is a glitch at the start of the recording. If you simply play the recording, it's probable that the glitch will cause stuttering, slow motion etc. However, if you play the recording then skip forward 60 seconds (ie. press the right arrow key four times), that should skip the glitch and possibly avoid the stuttering etc.

    If you haven't tried that, please do so.
    If you have tried that, please clearly say whether it helped or not.

    This is a very hard question that I can't answer for sure.
    With Colossus like yours, it often happens when the Colossus changes over from AAC to AC3/Dolby audio... but that doesn't appear to have happened with the Wimbledon recording.
    In general it can happen whenever your recording drive is heavily loaded (eg. because a virus scan is running, or it's almost full, or other programs are using it etc.). So many possibilities...

    Provide screenshots of your LAV video codec settings so we can ensure LAV is configured correctly (ie. DXVA/hardware-accelerated video decoding is enabled etc.).
     
  6. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks, MM, I was trying to say YES, THROUGHOUT the recording (6hrs) the same thing was happening.

    I attach the screen shots requested. Please let me know whether or not I should change any settings. Everything worked fine today when recording.
    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, thanks for clarifying.

    These are not what I was after.
    See the little spanner/wrench + screwdriver button next to each of those settings? Please click on that button for any setting where "LAV Video Decoder" is selected, then provide a screenshot of the new window that you see.

    [edit: Sorry, going out now. Won't be able to reply for 6 hours or so.]
     
    Last edited: June 30, 2016
  8. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Is this what you need? Anything I should change?
    Thanks, Dave
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5.PNG
      5.PNG
      File size:
      32.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 30, 2016
      Views:
      56
    • 4.PNG
      4.PNG
      File size:
      29.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 30, 2016
      Views:
      73
    • 3.PNG
      3.PNG
      File size:
      30.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 30, 2016
      Views:
      63
    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      29.9 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 30, 2016
      Views:
      59
    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      30.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      June 30, 2016
      Views:
      60
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Back earlier than expected... :)

    Yes, thanks. (y)

    Yes.
    1. Change "hardware decoder to use" from "none" to "DXVA2 (native)".
    2. Untick "HEVC" under "codecs for HW decoding".
    3. Untick "UHD (4K)" under "resolutions".
     
  10. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Changing these three settings seems to have cleared up the original recording with the stuttering.
    Was this to be expected?
    Where do I find out the details of the changes you suggested above and an explanation of why these should be the settings I use?
    Many thanks, Dave
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes.

    Sorry, I can't point you to an explanation. It's kind of just HTPC world common sense.

    P.S. I'm almost certain I've instructed you to change those settings previously.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!