1.12.0 - "TV On" = no tv if display were sleeping

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Al_Capone, November 27, 2015.

  1. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    -We know where "on" button is in the TV view (the topmost button in TV page), the button is selected
    -display is sleeping.
    -press "ok" on remote , means you know TV is supposed to come on.
    -you will instead get black picture, now stop, and start tv by pressing ON button - then it works.


     
    • Missing System Logs and/or Specs Missing System Logs and/or Specs x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello :)

    Without log files I'm forced to guess what happens... :(

    My guess is that the HDMI audio connection/path is disconnected when the display is sleeping. When you press "ok" to start TV, the channel is tuned successfully and the display wakes... but the audio connection is too slow. Without the audio connection/renderer there is no proper clock source for the playback. Without the clock source the picture will be black.

    Please post log files if you want actual help. ;)

    [edit: ...and to be clear, log files are always required for bug reports.]
     
  4. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Well, I won't be near the windows box for a few days, not sure about VPN as it's DMZ'ed. (the last shamful windows thing in the house)
    But it can't be HDMI audio beacuse:
    I don't use it - using a different digital output , the display is not really a TV (with audio) it's a display (like in airports) - because they actually sleep/wake as expected.
    also: if a mobile is paused for a while (fullscreen) -then it can resume regardless of display being wake or not.
    will try to make wife to reproduce, then fetch log.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, so in future it would be appreciated if you could delay posting the bug report until you have the log files. We appreciate the report, but log files are required for a reason (there's really nothing that can be said without them).

    Your system specifications say you use HDMI/DVI, so that's a bit confusing. Are they up-to-date?
     
  6. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Please see attached logs. removed DVI from specs, it was used for projector in a previous house, now the home-cinema room is different from living room. (DVI is not in use anymore)
    The reproduction contains:
    -fresh start of MP
    -enter TV (notice the loong time it takes to display it)
    -("TV On" is now selected by default)
    - I let the display go to sleep (MP controls that)
    - I press "ok" on remote (turning on TV)
    - when it wakes, the TV is "on" , but the TV view (right upper side) is black.
    -then I click OK to stop tv
    -then I click OK to start tv , and it starts properly.
    -then quit MP.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!