TV Server Channel Scan Crash PC at analog channel #67 (1 Viewer)

Antiflash

Portal Member
December 30, 2012
Home Country
Costa Rica Costa Rica
I knew I was looking for trouble when as a total newbie tried to configure MediaPortal in Windows 8 installing the latest 1.3.0 Beta.
When I try to configure the TV server and scan analog channels it always crash the PC at the same part. When scanning channel 67. I get an BSOD with the error BAD_POOL_CALLER. I get fully functional 66 channels but can't get TV server scan above that. QAM channels are scanned without problems.
Using Windows 8 64bits and a Hauppauge HVR-2250 (configured as hybrid).
Any ideas?
As an alternative tried to manually add channels above 66, but I failed to properly configure them and they do not work.
Any ideas?

Antiflash

Portal Member
December 30, 2012
Home Country
Costa Rica Costa Rica
Just to add some more information about the problem. I can 100% able to reproduce the BSOD when scaning analog channel #67 as odd as it might sound. First I though that manually adding channels beyond 67 will let me use the TVservice. But after I found how to manually add channels and completing the analog line up of my cable service, I unfortunately learned that TVservice is totally unreliable on my setup and usually crashes the computer when watching live tv and performing simple actions like changing channels or navigating between guide or other TV screens.
I'm not implying TVservice is at fault because it is actually the Hauppage driver of my HVR-2250 that crashes when is used by TVService. But I have installed and reinstalled the latest Hauppauge drivers without luck. The card works well with Media Center and Hauppauge WinTV.
I don't know if report this as a bug because running beta software (MP 1.3.0) in an unsupported OS (Windows 8 64bits) is asking for trouble.
But hopefully someone with similar platform (MP 1.3.0Beta + Hauppauge HVR-2250 + Windows 8 Pro 64 bits) can confirm or discard my problem.