TV Thumbnailer - Custom Rec TV Thumbs / Better h264 support

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by kiwijunglist, October 27, 2012.

  1. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    logo3.png



    I've created a tvThumnailer script that creates better and smarter thumbnails for tv recordings

    You should use tvThumbnailer if
    1. Sometimes you don't get thumbnails for tv recordings (Usually h264 mtn.exe related)
    2. You'd like to automatically pull tv thumbs from the internet.
    3. You feel randomly created thumbnail screenshots are ugly
    4. You'd like to use custom tvshow or tvchannel images for thumbnails
    Advantages over built in mediaportal thumbnailer
    • Uses latest ffmpeg binary so works perfectly with h264 recordings (mtn.exe used by mediaportal 1.3 uses ffdshow version from 2008, MP1.4 corrects this problem)
    • Automatically fetch images from thetvdb or fanart.tv websites
    • Automatically use custom user provided images for recordings
    • Can be used to create thumbnails for all previous tv recordings
    Also works with networked mp clients and compatible with Latest Media Handler

    _____________________________________________________________

    tvexample.jpg
    _____________________________________________________________

    Known Bugs
    - Will fail to create a thumb if video recordings, tvshow names, channel names or recording folder has a bracket in it. In this case the default thumbnailer for tv-server will take over the job.

    Changelog
    Show Spoiler

    1.4A:
    - Fixed internet lookups which were temporarily broken
    - Updated to work with MP 1.4 and MP1.3
    - MP1.4 Remote clients no longer need to run remote script, MP1.3 still required.

    1.4 ALPHA:
    - Runs a lot faster
    - Better detection of Java installation
    - Detects when filebot has finished searching for images rather than set waiting period

    1.3 ALPHA
    - Added option to search online for tvshow images (Thank you @rednoah for his filebot scripts, requires JAVA)
    - Movies currently not supported in online search, but may be added at a later date
    - Searching online requires java to be installed on the PC
    - Added option to choose between single screenshot or montage of 4 screenshots

    1.2 ALPHA
    - Fixed interlacing artifacts in thumbnails (Thanks @morpheus_xx)
    - Added a Setup GUI so user no longer needs to edit files in notepad
    - Added ability to drag + drop folders to generate thumbnails
    - Removed dependency on installation folder location
    - Now creates a single log file \TV Thumbnailer\Files\tvThumbnailer.log
    - Update wiki to reflect new changes

    1.1 ALPHA
    - Error checking for stand alone tv server install
    - Fixed create thumbs for all tv recordings on stand alone tvserver isntall
    - I think v1.0 was trying to run comskip by default so that has been fixed too

    1.0 ALPHA
    - Initial release
    Thank You
    Jay_UK and Morpheus_XX for helping me with ffmpeg
    RedNoah for his filebot program and scripts for downloading online images
    Mr Viggo and gonzo90017 for testing

    Installation
    Extract to a folder on your tv-server pc
    Run setup.cmd
    Drag your recording folder and drop it on top of tvThumbnailer.cmd
    This will create thumbnails for all your existing recordings
    To automatically create thumbnails for future recordings you need to run tvserver setup.
    Even though this says "comskiplauncher" we are launching tvthumbnailer instead of comskip :)
    If you want to run comskip as well you still can do this (choose comskip option with setup.cmd)

    [​IMG]

    Please view the wiki page for further information / FAQ

    Downloads
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: June 17, 2013
    • Like Like x 16
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Wont that "plugin" disable comskip functionality?
     
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    No you can run comskip and tv thumbnailer together

    Copy + Paste from the wiki

    Can I use TV Thumbnailer and comskip at the same time?
    Yes you can, run setup.cmd inside the TV Thumbnailer folder and enter the location of comskip.exe
     
    Last edited: November 2, 2012
  5. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    I like the "cunning" style of how you've got this working :D

    Is FFMpeg working for all your shows? When I tried a while ago (a year or so), it wasnt too comprehensive.

    J.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    It's working on tv recordings that MP (mtn.exe) failed on and I havn't had a recording that it doesn't work on yet.
    Try it out yourself, either with my script or grab ffmpeg from sourceforge
    ffmpeg.exe -ss 720 -itsoffset -5 -i "tv recording.ts" -vframes 1 -y "test.jpg"
    Most of my tv recordings now automatically use a custom show image, so it's not used that frequently.
     
    Last edited: October 27, 2012
  7. mr viggo
    • Premium Supporter

    mr viggo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 1, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    58
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    I'm on multi-seat and have tons of recordings without t-nails. Do I have to drag and drop all of them one by one or is there a simpler way?
     
  8. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Why do you have so many recordings without thumbnails?
    Did the built in thumbnailer fail on them or is there another reason?
    Are they all .ts recordings in the tv recording folder?

    The script is designed to add thumbnails to new recordings, I just added the drag + drop feature because I could do it without much further coding, although it's unfortunate that you have to add files one at a time.

    I could probably write a script to create thumbnails for all past tv recordings in one go. Would it be ok to overwrite existing thumbnails with a newly created thumb? My script would only deal with files that are listed under My TV -> Recorded TV, it is not for video files.
     
    Last edited: October 27, 2012
  9. mr viggo
    • Premium Supporter

    mr viggo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 1, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    58
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    MP doesnt do any thumbs for me when recording. I'm 100% sure that I've got it enabled in config, still no thumbs :(
    So ~100 recordings, all .ts files made by MP, with no thumbs. I guess it has to do with using UNC paths for Tv.

    If you do a script for multi creation of thumbs, on my end its fine with overwrites :)
     
  10. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Are these ~100 recordings accessible via My TV -> Recorded TV?
     
  11. mr viggo
    • Premium Supporter

    mr viggo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 1, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    58
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!