[UPDATED] Import Issues, Fanart Issues and the Next Release | Page 2

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by fforde, September 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThaClown

    ThaClown Moderator - Dutch Forums

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Responsive web design specialist
    Location:
    Den Bosch
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Is it only me?
    Movies do not restart from the point that I stopped it....


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Darre

    Darre Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 21, 2007
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ratings:
    +80 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Its on his todo-list :)
     
  4. travisbell

    travisbell Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 2, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hey zag2me,

    I'll be implementing caching on meligrove.com tonight which should significantly help. Based on the traffic of Meligrove, we're pushing ~2500 API requests a day right now and there's really no need. It's a complete waste of CPU, bandwidth and wait time for users.

    I would expect to see that number drop to around ~600 a day with caching enabled. Everything I can do to help settle the load will be done now that I know it needs to be.

    Cheers brotha.
     
  5. zag2me

    zag2me Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 11, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Nice! Thanks Travis ;)

    I noticed that its the XML data that is using 75% of the bandwidth, surprisingly the covers is only about 20%.

    I'm just glad I limited them to 419 pixels wide now otherwise the site would never have survived :)

    And yes the site search using the website frontend is slow for some reason, its wierd as I'm searching using full text in the same way as the XML interface.
     
  6. Darre

    Darre Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 21, 2007
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ratings:
    +80 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Zag2me: I got a lot of SQL errors while trying to upload covers yesterday, but eventually the covers got through tho.. Banwidth issue?
     
  7. Felias

    Felias Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 28, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    @Darre: Just a quick solution:

    When getting the SQL-Error: Enter the movie name in the search window on the top right, load it again, and the upload the cover. Worked for me all the time.
     
  8. zag2me

    zag2me Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 11, 2006
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Yes I know about that error, its when the movie id is not passed quickly enough to the upload function, and it gives the cover a blank title.

    Basically slow host yes :)

    Searching for the movie again, or refreshing should fix it.
     
  9. travisbell

    travisbell Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 2, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Alright, caching has been implemented and already we've saved over ~100 API requests so this is gonna save you a fair bit. Plus, it's faster for Meligrove users since we're serving up local cached files now ;)
     
  10. Johan

    Johan Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 19, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I had backdrops for all my movies 20 minutes ago. I even added a few of my own to moviebackdrops so I could get them updated in Moving Pictures automatically. A few minutes ago moviebackdrops died again due to lots of traffic.
    Now some backdrops have just disappeared after I restarted MP. (Including all the ones I added myself to the site)

    Does the plug-in removes backdrops if the site is down?
     
  11. fforde

    fforde Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1,696 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    It should not but you are the second person to report something like this. I will investigate. There is an issue covering the bug here.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!