[no Bug] - v1.3.0.RC: MediaPortal-Installer wants 64-Files on 64-Bit Machine although a 32 Install is wanted

Discussion in 'MP 1.3.0 Beta & RC' started by Proto, February 12, 2013.

  1. Proto

    Proto New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    1. Starting the Installer on a 64-Bit Machine (Win 7)
    2. Select Download Only
    3. Select 32-Bit as Target

    The Installer still wants the 64-Bit Versions of the MSSQL and downloads the 64-Bit Version of the MySQL.



    When trying on a 32-Bit Machine there is no problem.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: February 14, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    MySQL is OS related, so x64 on 64bit OS.
    Codecs/Filters and other stuff that are used INSIDE MediaPortal need to be 32bit, since MediaPortal is a 32bit application.

    Setting this to No Bug.
     
    Last edited: February 14, 2013
  4. Proto

    Proto New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Ok, then there is no possibilitiy to prepare the installation for a 32-Bit System on a 64-Bit System? So I missunderstood the key.
     
  5. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,173 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    it is not recommended to use 32bit MSSQL on 64bit platform.
    So you can download 32bit version manually for your preparations.
     
  6. Proto

    Proto New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    My Internet-PC is 64bit, my HTPC 32bit. I tried first du download a 32bit Version on my 64bit Internet-PC. Because of the behavior I downloaded it then from my HTPC to get a full 32bit Version. My mistake was to think I can get a full 32bit Version on a 64bit System.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!