Various Artists Albums Do Not Display Properly (1 Viewer)

GweiloJake

January 9, 2016
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I am quite new to MediaPortal, so I apologise in advance if I have neglected to apply setup protocols properly. I recently scanned my album collection. Multiple albums (specifically those with more than one artist or VA) do not yield a single album, but rather display an album for each artist therein (please refer to the attached screenshot). I have attempted several display options and library settings.

I have attempted to re-scan the albums (all MP3 format). I checked the tags (useID3 TagScanner. These albums display properly in Kodi and WMP).

I am running on a new HP LOF1QUQ with Intel Core i3-417OT 3.2GHz and 8 GB RAM. 64-bit OS w. Touch Support running on Windows 10 Home Edition.

Thank you for your kind assistance. Jake

Attachments

• screenshot.jpg
    screenshot.jpg
    71.6 KB

XMaM

Portal Member
December 15, 2012
Asturias
Home Country
Spain Spain
As ajs said, in MP the album is "composed" according the value settled in the tag Album Artist (and the Album Tittle), so all the tracks belonging to the same album must be tagged with the same Album Artists. Otherwise, MP interprets that you have two different albums with the same title.
Other players rely in the Album Title, so in those players, the album is showed as you expect.

You can fill the Album Artist tag with any value, but always the same for the same Album. You can use Various Artists (e.g. an album with not related artists) or the name of the principal artist in an album with one, two or three tracks performed by other artists (like collaborations).
Then, in the Artist tag, you can put the name of the artist who actually performs the song.