webepg without tv server? or, how to add tv server to existing installation?

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Statick, August 28, 2011.

  1. Statick

    Statick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 25, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I don't have a TV card so i haven't installed MP with the TV server option. however i would like to get the webepg plugin working, as the epg on our satellite box is a bit rubbish.

    it seems that i don't have the webepg plugin unless i install the TV server. running the installation process to upgrade MP doesn't offer me the choice of installing the TV server which appears when making a fresh install, so i cannot seem to be able to add it to the existing install.

    i'd really like to avoid doing a clean install of MP if possible. is there a way i can get webepg running on my existing install? thanks


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I am not sure it will work.

    The EPG will only show the data for channels which have been mapped between the EPG plugin with real channels which have been tuned using the a real card by the TVServer. With no TV Card I don't think you will have a mechanism to display any data. Sorry!

    Can you not buy a really cheap second had DVB-S pci card from ebay or somewhere and put it in your system. You can still add encrypted channels and DVB-S2 channels (I think) to your list of channels to get the EPG for those channels to display EPG data (even if MP can't then play them). You can also then record TV with it too!

    With regards to the installation process, I suspect that if you tell to to install the server only, then it "should" leave the client side alone.

    Robbo100
     
  4. Statick

    Statick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 25, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    so there's no way to get a working TV guide page on MP without adding a TV card? that's a shame. would be a useful feature.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Statick

    It can be done. :)
    Of course, you would have to install TV Server for a start. Then you would have to add all the channels to TV Server's channel list manually (because they can't be scanned in without a tuner obviously). No need to create tuning details, but it would still be a little tedious. If you can manage a database, you could write a script to automate it. Whatever you do, once you've created the channels *SAVE THEM* (ie. export, and save the export somewhere safe) - you don't want to have to do it more than once! Once in TV Server, you can group them, order them, give them logos etc. like "real" channels. :D

    mm
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!