Why can't I see the mapped drives!?!

Discussion in 'General' started by Antonio Carballo, August 19, 2015.

  1. Antonio Carballo

    Antonio Carballo New Member

    Joined:
    August 19, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I just started testing MP2 server and I want to change the recording folders to a mapped drive. I have exhausted all of my time trying to figure out why the mapped drives cannot be seen. So, I'm at the mercy of benevolent and knowledgeable individuals from this forum.

    Setup.-
    • MP2 server is running under Windows 7 Enterprise.
    • The Windows 7 is a virtual machine under VirtualBox.
    • VirtualBox is running in my MacMini (huge drive, 16GB RAM, multiple CPUs).
    • I configure the VM to have a local folder as a mapped drive. This set-up is used for another product and it works flawlessly.
    Diagnosis.-
    • I can see the "mapped" drive with the Windows Explorer.
    • I launch the MP2 set-up program and I go to the Recording settings to change its folder. I click on the [...] button and no mapped drives are shown.
    Q: Why are the mapped drives not shown? If the concern is that mapped drives cannot be seen by the MP2 service, then give me an option to punch in the machine name and the folder (\\machine_name\folder). Thank you in advance.



    Sincerely,
    AC
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Antonio :)

    We don't bite! Therefore in future I recommend you don't exhaust your time before asking.

    If I've understood correctly, you'll find what you're looking for by searching under "network". I still run XP so can't be sure that this is the correct name, but on my PC I'd navigate to "My Network Places" -> "Entire Network" -> "Microsoft Windows Network" -> <work group or domain name> -> <PC name> -> <shared folder name>

    We're not intentionally hiding mapped drives, though a fair few people seem to want to record directly to NAS and personally I wouldn't recommend that.
    Main reason to not make the folder field editable is to avoid human error when typing in the path.
     
  4. Antonio Carballo

    Antonio Carballo New Member

    Joined:
    August 19, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Figured out the problem: I had to run the set-up program "As An Administrator". I could not see the content of the Network until I did that. I changed the folder and I can now move onto the channel set-up.

    Thanks for the quick response!

    /AC
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!