Win XP Embedded (2 Viewers)

cwleveck

Portal Member
November 12, 2006
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Has anyone tried, or even considered trying, run media portal as a dedicated set top box type device running XPEmbedded as the O/S? I'm no programmer, but as a hardware guy, I am tempted to give it a shot. Any imput from someone crazy enough to try it would be greatly appreciated.

cwleveck

Portal Member
November 12, 2006
Home Country
BTW- This is the first time ive posted anything anywhere. So if im not following some rule or violating some law of posting, please feel free to chastise me at will so I won't make the same mistake twice. I am really serious about this and have spent several months working on this project before coming here. I value any information I can get and will share any information I have that can help anyone achieve their goals as well.

Flerbizky

Portal Pro
July 18, 2005
Copenhagen
Home Country
Denmark Denmark
Has anyone tried, or even considered trying, run media portal as a dedicated set top box type device running XPEmbedded as the O/S? I'm no programmer, but as a hardware guy, I am tempted to give it a shot. Any imput from someone crazy enough to try it would be greatly appreciated.

Haven't tried it with MP, but back in the days when MyHTPC was the Frontend to use - I did do a setup with XP Embedded... You can do a very clean install if you can be bothered to spend the time doing it...

But I've found that a clean XP install, services.msc and XP Lite will get you 98% of the way. <- And that can be done legally - The price of XP embedded is a small fortune :-|

Cheers,
Steffen

cwleveck

Portal Member
November 12, 2006
Home Country
XPE Expense?

I am a licensed microsoft partner and work a lot with CE devices providing medical EMO systems over WAN with WBT's. So forgive me if I came off as trying to do something "cheap" by getting around any licensing, etc.