work on the Joomla remository (1 Viewer)

NielsSF

Portal Pro
September 20, 2007
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
I have talked with infinityloop about the work on the opensource remository and applied for to help as a web developer. I have done already some big PHP jobs in the past and like to helpout with this great MediaPortal. Also i have some basic knowledge about C#.

I have send dukus a pm to get some information about how the MPInstaller and he told me that he has only in the weekends time. so I hope he can tell us more about it next weekend.

The web platform is PHP-Joomla together with opensource remository. The MPI installer uses C# and can be found in the SVN. Sofar i have seen is that the MPI downloads a xml file from the server. with all the existing plugins and skins. This list needs to be extended to get the wanted extra information.

When you have interest to help out, pleace replay here, with ideas of what part of the changes you like to do.

---------------------
Update 29/1/2009:

The last days or so i have studied the Joomla repository (=JP) and the MPIinstaller to see what needs to be done, so we can extend the repository with the wishes that where suggested in the thread from infinityloop showed here.

Below is a list of things that are suggested over there, which needs to has changes in the repository to get working.

1. dependencies - a plugin or skin might required that other plugins. JR has a field for this.
  2. DONE Show the compatible MP versions and skins. (if it's a skinpage show the compatible plugins). This can be part of the dependencies
  3. DONE display history - a list of older version on the home page, based on the versioning. JR need extended
  4. versioning - a skin for example just has one entry in the repository, which gets updated. JR need extended
  5. Don't create new pages every time an update is released !! Just update the current page. Create name check in JR