Working server, no video playback on client

Discussion in 'General' started by arjoll, September 28, 2019.

  1. arjoll

    arjoll Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Invercargill
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Hi team - I know that my profile says I joined in 2008, but I never actually got things set up then. MP1 felt very "raw" at the time, so I just persevered with Media Center under XP and 7. After an increasing number of issues with Windows 7, and the impending withdrawal of support, I finally made the jump to Mediaportal 2 at the start of the year.

    It's generally working well - some weird issues with some recorded programmes showing twice and issues deleting, but I am sure that's just the source setup.

    My reason for coming back on here after 11 years is an attempt to set up a client. The server is a tower behind the lounge PC with tuners; a necessity for Windows MCE, but I'd like to tidy it up, so have a little 8th generation i3 NUC to go in its place, with the server to be relegated to the networking cupboard. The new client can see the server fine, all of the recordings, guide etc show up without problem, but I have no video playback! Streaming from the server appears to be working - the MPTvScheduler app on my phone can play live TV and recordings without problem - but I just get a black screen. I've tried LAV and Microsoft splitters and codecs, and channels with both SD and HD and having no luck.



    An initial error about the path was resolved by setting up the network credentials correctly, but now I'm not even getting errors in the log. Just no playback.

    Hoping someone can point me in the right direction - and if I've posted this in the wrong area, please let me know! The logs are attached (showing lots of attempts...), specs in my profile, and happy to provide additional info if required!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    You probably manually defined a share for the TV recordings, however, the recording folder - as defined in th TV configuration - is automatically detcted and added as a server share.

    What exactly do you mean? That you can't play TV recordings or movies/music? The latter are treated differently.

    Anyway, your client log shows no errors. You may want to set the log level to Debug (see Server settings), repeat the attempt to play and then post both client and server logs.
     
  4. arjoll

    arjoll Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Invercargill
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I figured it would be something like that; it hasn't been a major concern, more one of those "around tuit" things!

    Sorry, I meant live TV and TV playback.

    I've done this now and attached the logs - in the absence of any specific errors I'm not sure what content in there to search on! I see there are issues with things like TV logos, and the Xbox is creating a lot of noise with UPNP requests (I'm not using it in this setup, and it's powered down but still polling) but don't think these are likely to be the problem!

    Thanks
    Andrew
     

    Attached Files:

  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is the automatically added share.

    This is the one that you added manually, which leads to a double entry (and possible issues). Remove this share in your settings, add credentials as mentioned above, then try again.
     
  6. arjoll

    arjoll Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Invercargill
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, and sorry about the delay in getting back to this.

    I've done that - it's fixed the issue with each show showing twice, but hasn't resolved the issue with recordings or live TV from the client.

    Just to clarify what is happening. Live TV gives me the blueish background (I'm using the Media Centre theme), while recordings give me a black screen with all the playback controls but no playback - the time sits at 00:00, and I can see to other times but there's still no playback.

    Playing other items (video library, movies etc) is fine, but I'm guessing those are accessed via a share not RTSP. Playback of the recorded transport streams over the network share is fine with VLC, and I can play live and recorded TV on my phone (Nokia 7 plus, Android Pie) using the MPTVScheduler app.

    I'm hoping there's something more I can try - I've attached the latest debug leven logs from both client and server.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,746
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Strange. The logs show no error and things should be alright.

    Have you tried another skin/theme instead WMC, e.g. Win10? I don't really expect a different result but worth a try.

    EDIT:
    I vaguely remember a problem with the dynamic refresh rate changer. Can you try to temporarily deactivate and try again?
    The other thing is the behavior in windowed mode. Change from FullScreen to Window mode by pressing Alt-Enter. Does the playback behavior change?
     
    Last edited: October 7, 2019
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!