WorldWeather Lite | Page 2

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Micropolis, January 7, 2013.

  1. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Dadeo,
    thanks for your feedback.
    Sure, I don't need more than 30min. for development and test. This option was removed to dissolve the dependency to the skin path media\worldweather\provider. Do we want use the same location here or the media folder? Personally I prefer the first solution, because it makes no sense to save the same images (for WorldWeather Lite and WorldWeather) in different locations.

    That's a good point. The API return values of supported weather providers follow different standards (e.g. international weather code or Where On Earth ID), the next provider require the country name, another the city name in a special style (see provider comparison sheet and required input parameters). WorldWeather doesn't have the chance to solve this problem completely. Unfortunately, this can of course lead to the described problems. Let me give a overview of my best practice rules:
    • always try to take the English place names without country code abbreviations
    • primarily use the international codes (e.g. CAXX0165 from your example)
    • use country names, which you can select in the combobox of the configuration dialog (in case entries should be missing, please send me information)
    • fill longitude/latitude values, if the parameters cannot be determined automatically

    I can check your example at weekend, currently I do not have access to my development machine and/or HTPC.

    "Correct" is not the right word, here it is more the problem that each provider makes it a little bit different. But these small differences can lead to problems in the sum.

    Cheers, Micropolis


     
    Last edited: January 10, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Dadeo
    • Premium Supporter

    Dadeo Docs Group Manager

    Joined:
    November 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    2,802
    Location:
    Himalayas, India
    Ratings:
    +3,053 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    I agree with using the same location (i.e. World Weather subfolder) I have to apologize though, because I thought WWL installed some new provider images. I completely forgot I had updated World Weather and it had added them. DUH! So I didn't realize my 'request' was actually bigger than I thought - thanks for considering it anyways. :D

    (y) I'll be sure to copy those 'best practices' to wiki when we do the docs ;), but how do you enter longitude/latitude values in WWL?
    Maybe it is also important to note that you can get different results when using the 'Detect' button depending what you enter in the City/City Code/Country fields. (at least I can ;)) I use the comparison sheet a lot - I find it really helpful.

    Probably most people just select one location and one provider, and they are good to go. However I like to add the locations of my family and friends around the world, and quite often it is difficult to get accurate weather for all locations from a single provider. So I end up switching providers quite a lot and then forget that provider doesn't work, or does not provide good info, for that location :rolleyes:

    Ofc India is a good test case because very few APIs work well for locations here other than the major cities. Often even the websites provide only 'observations' from 500-1000 km away even if there is a weather station down the road ;) It's even more annoying when their 'free' API provides quite different data than that provided on the website. But ofc, users like me should 'upgrade' to World Weather ;) because many of the additional providers provide better data for locations outside America/Europe.
     
    Last edited: January 11, 2013
  4. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Dadeo,
    Provider images are supported now, the latest build can be found at the first post of this thread.

    The are some more things (e.g. see the discussion here), which must be documented in a understandable way.

    The best practice overview was for WorldWeather itself, not for the lite version. There is no way to enter longitude/latitude values yet, except you change the location profile in WorldWeather.xml manually.

    Understandable, but it can not be solved by the plugin.

    Cheers, Micropolis
     
    Last edited: January 12, 2013
  5. vuego
    • Team MediaPortal

    vuego Documentation Group

    Joined:
    August 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    662
    Occupation:
    Alchemist, Astrobiologist, Exotic dancer
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Ratings:
    +870 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Cheers, Micropolis. Nice Area 51 :)

    Will there be overlay icons on other screens of Titan with, for example current temperature?

    I noticed that WorldWeather Lite doesn't respect the language setting in MediaPortal. I've selected English in MediaPortal Configuration - GUI - Languange Settings but the GUI plugin screen is still displayed in Swedish.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi vuego,
    I don't know, what you mean. Could you explain me this a little bit more, maybe with a mockup?

    I'm sure, you have selected the language setting "English (United Kingdom)". That's a bug, I'll correct this asap.

    Cheers, Micropolis
     
    Last edited: January 12, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  7. vuego
    • Team MediaPortal

    vuego Documentation Group

    Joined:
    August 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    662
    Occupation:
    Alchemist, Astrobiologist, Exotic dancer
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Ratings:
    +870 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Yes, I see now that I already have the current temperature right next to the date in Titan :rolleyes:
    However I remember some skins did also show the weather icon here, like the sun, rain or cloud icon. I'm not sure how well it will fit in Titan though...

    I did actually select English (United States) but I guess it's part of the same problem :)
     
  8. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi vuego,
    You can fix this for yourself very quickly. The "bug" is not more than the absence of the language file "strings_en-US.xml" (and "strings_en-GB.xml"), you can duplicate the file "strings_en.xml" and after this all must work as expected.

    Cheers, Micropolis
     
    Last edited: January 12, 2013
  9. guytpetj
    • Premium Supporter

    guytpetj MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Director - Oil and Gas Exploration
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I'm really pleased that team MediaPortal went for a lite version of the World Weather plugin, and that they made it compatible with the full version for easy upgrade.

    Great job guys.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. vuego
    • Team MediaPortal

    vuego Documentation Group

    Joined:
    August 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    662
    Occupation:
    Alchemist, Astrobiologist, Exotic dancer
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Ratings:
    +870 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that works :)

    I noticed that the forecast displays the max and min temperatures but "Current" only shows current ;) Could we get a max + min for today as well?
     
  11. Micropolis

    Micropolis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    1,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Consultant
    Location:
    Bavaria
    Ratings:
    +1,947 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi vuego,
    No, sorry. Actually none of the supported providers publish appropriate values.

    Cheers, Micropolis
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!