1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbmc (Frodo) with pvr functions

Discussion in 'Other HTPC Applications (no support)' started by Paranoid Delusion, November 26, 2012.

  1. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi All

    Inspired by this thread in the German language forum thanks to Lehmden

    Just been trying the very latest Frodo release of xbmc, not bad at all, setup was a breeze, had all folders setup for media in under 30 minutes, enabling the pvr for ARGUS TV, took 10 min, but that was with using an existing installation of ARGUS (rebranded 4TheRecord in case you did not know), and just pointing the pvr plugin to the correct ip.

    Very smooth running through menu's in fact so fast you could easily blast past the media you wanted to select ;)
    Remote support still very hit and miss, but now with the standard keyboard\mouse settings, xbmc seems to recognise the back button of my M$ mce remote as keyboard escape, which never worked previously for me.

    Scanning media was good and did not slow or stop xbmc from doing other tasks ie playing video, so another plus there, information for the most part was accurate, the downside was, if no info found, you were not informed of that, so you could go into the movie library and find x amount of movies missing, if you did not remember them, rescanning needs to be done against these files manually, a real time consuming thing, same applied to TVSeries and Music.
    For me, MP still beats xbmc hands down regarding what is not found on a full scan of media folders.

    The other thing I did like, if you hovered over live tv, you were informed of current\upcoming recording, that to me was a really nice touch, epg I hated, you had to choose a program and ok it, which brought up the info screen, hittingthe ok again, takes you back to the last tv station viewed as live tv, so this is a bug, really got me jumping around the whole epg and a complete pain just to read what the program was about.

    Recording works fine from the GUI, just don't try and record a series, not supported in any way with the current release, again makes it pretty unusable for a 10ft experience :(

    Comskip is supported, at least on my singleseat system when playing back recorded tv.

    Overall what I missed was

    Full M$ MCE remote support.
    Easy zoom mode access, again via remote as in the blue button, the one built in non-linear stretch for 4:3 is not the best.
    Feedback for not found media whether TVSeries\Movies or music.
    Recording TV Series is currently impossible, unless manually added.
    In MyVideos or MovingPictures, if I hit a letter on remote it sends sms keypress, allowing easy movement around my media, I know I already stated how fast xbmc is, but you easily go straight past the movie you wanted ;)
    Info option about playing media, as our i button works, you can get a timeline up, which has access to filename, media settings, but there is no way of getting a quick glance information screen of what you are watching, without going backwards to the media list, important to me when i walk in on a part way playing tv program and I want to know whats it about.

    Screenshots taken are from a early prototype of Titan, so ignore quality, and have been hacked to work with my ARGUS TV system





    screenshot001.png screenshot000.png screenshot002.png screenshot004.png screenshot005.png
    screenshot006.png screenshot007.png screenshot008.png screenshot009.png screenshot010.png
    screenshot011.png screenshot012.png screenshot013.png screenshot014.png screenshot015.png
    screenshot016.png screenshot017.png screenshot018.png screenshot019.png

    Now this is what I meant by information about program, none of the pretty bits in the very next picture gives me that compared to MP :(

    screenshot023.png

    22-01-55.png
     
    Last edited: November 26, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Benoire
    • Super User

    Benoire Super User

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I've found so far that XBMC is fantastic for everything except Live TV / Recorded TV. When dealing with TV, MediaPortal wins hands down. I use MP on my HTPC as XBMC isn't ready and while it is improving and showing massive promise, I still think it is a couple of iterations away from rivaling MP for TV. MP still has its querks, such as slow parsing of the intial tv stream on first tune and the inability to have the 'groups' option bound to a button on the remote but it still easly beats XBMC and I expect 1.3 to continue with this.

    Where I think XBMC will be better, once at a decent level of PVR support, is operational speed as it just simply flies, in program option editing and multiple support for other OS's. XBMC also feels a little less 'clunky' than MP... Can't quite put my finger on it but XBMC just seems 'smoother'.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. SciDoctor
    • Team MediaPortal

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,454
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +112 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Tried out the 12.0beta latest on my test pc, couldn't get it to run without 100% cpu usage GUI.

    Tried the stable 11.0 and this worked fine, excellent GUI setup felt very logical and settings changes react without needing to restart , fast start up compared to MP.

    Used an Eden 11.0 PVR bulid that simplified TV PVR setup, it worked well not as quick as MP, but the EPG was dire to view/navigate.

    1080I playback wasn't good at all forced to progressve without deinterlacing, no droped frames and reasonable CPU usage. 1080P fine. 12.0 may correct this but wouldn't run stably and did BSOD, thats beta's for you.
     
  5. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Anyone know how to set up XBMC to use an MS MCE remote properly? It's a joke in the default setup. Also, how do I get XBMC to import TV-Series?

    Emph
     
  6. Benoire
    • Super User

    Benoire Super User

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Nope! remote support seems very poor at the moment, and when it does work it doesn't act how you think it might, especially live TV!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Benoire
    • Super User

    Benoire Super User

    Joined:
    March 17, 2012
    Messages:
    661
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +131 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    There is a thread in the pvr development section asking about remote buttons and what should happen when you press them. XBMC can be quite a contradiction really, some parts are so easy to setup and use but some of the most obvious things that should work out of the box just don't! At least MP, at present, works well at most things even if it seems a little less smooth.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Vimes
    • Premium Supporter

    Vimes MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I use a MCE remote (and it is a true MCE remote and not just an imitation keyboard type remote) and it sees to work a treat with the Frodo (as it did with Eden) release of XBMC.

    But to get that level of functionality I installed this...

    http://xbmccustomregis.sourceforge.net/


    the auto installer is here....

    http://xbmccustomregis.sourceforge.net/remote_auto.html


    just carefully follow the above instructions.

    for me after using that the functionality of the MCE remote is superb.

    It ran fine with Win 7 x64 and does the same for me with Win 8 x64.

    Not sure what you mean about the TV series...?

    I have mine like this....

    http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Adding_videos_to_the_library/Naming_files/TV_shows

    So a folder for (for example) the TV series "24" would be a folder called 24 with the first episode named 24 s01 e01.mp4.

    That would be imported from the "Video" menu and a TV scraper selected.
     
    Last edited: November 28, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  9. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Yeah, I really don't like having my shows in folders as I rarely keep full seasons long enough. Not very user-friendly to force people to re-organize their whole library IMHO. MediaPortal's TV Series plugin have the upper hand x 100. :)

    I'll check that remote stuff out, thanks.
    Emph
     
  10. Vimes
    • Premium Supporter

    Vimes MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 19, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Earth, for now
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    When I used MP I still kept my TV shows in folders, I suppose I just got used to that type of structure. Some of them I have kept and others just get deleted. So, in that respect, the transition to XBMC was easy.
     
  11. emphatic
    • Team MediaPortal

    emphatic Design Group

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Surface treatment
    Location:
    Alingsås
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Even the shows I have in folders doesn't appear in XBMC as expected. Only empty folders mostly. I have no clue what's going on, LOL.

    Emph
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!