(Yet another) question about a new build... (1 Viewer)

MPM

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 9, 2007
    Home Country
    Sweden Sweden
    Short story:

I’m looking for a good MB (micro ATX or smaller), preferably with on-board graphics, potentially with additional graphics card. Target use is pure “living room” HTPC, i.e. watching TV and videos in a MP client configuration. No gaming, “MS Officing” or anything like that. The only “must have” is smooth and trouble-free playback of video material in all resolutions (including 1080p) and all flavours of compression; and smooth and trouble-free playback of TV, both SD and HD. “Nice to Haves” are ability to pass-through HD sound, sleep/resume technology that works well with MP and low power consumption.
    All recommendations and comments are hugely appreciated!

Long story:

I’ve been using MP since 2005. Love it now and loved it back then but I still have nightmares about all the hours spent and nerves lost configuring and fine-tuning it back then. (Kudos to developers for stabilizing it! :D) About two years ago everything looked much more stable and I took a “risk” and both an integrated MB for the first time (see My System) and the only thing I’ve done since then was to update MP, StreamedMP and SAF as new versions came out. Everything is working pretty much flawlessly (including that smooth and trouble-free playback that I refer to) and I found my inner peace! :rolleyes: