A couple of MP2 Questions

Discussion in 'General' started by robbo100, March 3, 2012.

  1. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Firstly, congratulations, and well done for such an amazing effort. I have had a little play with MP2 today and it seems to be a great product in the making!

    I have set up the MP2 Server to run on my server PC and put a shortcut into the windows startup folder. I have then setup the client to run on the client PC using multishortcut from MP1.2.2. This setup seems to be a very nice way of testing MP2 without too much disturbance to my system, so hopefully I will be able to do some good Alpha testing.

    Questions:

    1) I have looked around quite a lot, but I can't find a way to quit MP2 using the remote control (only using the mouse to click on the small X in the corner of the screen). Am I missing something, cos this would be useful to return to MP1.2.2 after "playing" with MP2.

    2) I have been able to get the TVService working on my server (single seat mode) using MP2, but I can not connect to the client. I have entered the IP address (simply putting "192.168.1.3" without any "//" or anything else with it). Are there any firewall settings I need to change to get this to work?

    3) Should the MP1.X keyboard shortcuts work with MP2? The reason I ask is because buttons like STOP (b) don't work when media is playing. Is this work-in-progress, or might I have a bug?

    4) The release information for MP2 says that "Online Videos" is already released for MP2. Where do I find it?

    Sorry for all the questions and thanks again!



    Robbo100
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Sorry for this post, I didn't realist that this thread had a couple of answers: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...tal-2-alpha-version.106234/page-5#post-848520

    So to answer my own questions (in case someone else is looking for these answers), they are as follows:

    1) This sounds like it might be a specific skin issue and it might work with other skins, I will play with other skins later and report it if it is a specific problem with the skin I am using. The little X in the top corner should work with the remote.

    2) ? - I will do some more playing and see if I can get it working.

    3) Not all keyboard keys work yet, so this is not a bug.

    4)? - I still can't find it.
     
  4. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,833
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,613 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    @1 Ive tested all three skins, The X appears sometimes only if you navigate to the top left corner.
    @2 You need to install TV4Home Core service on your Tv Server to get SlimTV Client working.
    @3 The remote control is not fully implemented jet. Best to use mouse/keyboard atm.
    @4 OnlineVideos is team internal released. The "public" version should be out next days...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks Lehmden,

    @1 I will give it a go.
    @2 I already have this setup and I can get it to work on my server in single-seat mode, but I can not get my separate client to connect to the TV4Home Core Service server over the network (I am going to try playing with disabling firewalls first). Is there any way I can test TV4Home Core Service the connection between the client and server so I can illuminate MP2 from the problem?
    @3 Thanks
    @4 OK, thanks - I thought I had a problem with my eyes when I couldn't see it ;)

    Robbo100
     
  6. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,833
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,613 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
  7. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    :ROFLMAO: I didn't think it was going to be a bug - I just thought I was being inept (and didn't want to flood the bug thread with my stupidity)!

    Thanks for posting the bug.

    I will have a look at Online Videos - Thanks for the update.

    Robbo100
     
  8. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    P.S. I couldn't see the bug report, but I presume it is somewhere in mantis rather than on the bug report thread?
     
  9. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,833
    Likes Received:
    2,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,613 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
  10. robbo100
    • Team MediaPortal

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!