a few questions regarding Blu-Ray support

Discussion in 'General Support' started by MaKin, June 9, 2013.

  1. MaKin

    MaKin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 9, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hey guys,

    first of all I'd like to thank you for the great support here. Also I should mention that I have read the Wiki, especially the native bd support part. And now I know that there is BD support in MePo 1.3 as long as it's not commercial discs. For playback of commercial blu ray discs there has to software installed that takes over the on-the-fly decription. Exmamples are PowerDVD or AnyDVD HD. So far so good but there are still some question marks above my head...

    • how can I set up the playback inside MePo (with the software mentioned above running in the background) without having to switch the software (respectively use mouse/keyboard)
    • will I have full-menu support in MePo or only when running the PowerDVD HD itself (as AnyDVD is no player right?) or won't I have the original menus at all?
    • will I be able to play every BluRay disc with that set up just as if I was using a stand alone player?
    • are there any know issues or bugs when using that constellation?
    I would also like to apologize for asking questions that might have been answered already but as a htpc-beginner there are so many things not quite clear and I am looking forward to any information I receive that way while doing further research on my own. :)

    As I do not own a htpc yet, I had no chance to test it myself yet. :(

    If you could also give me a short "OK" whether the BD-playback will be fine with the following planned config:
    • AMD A8-5500 4x 3.20GHz
    • ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M A75
    • Kingston HyperX XMP Kit 4GB PC3-14900U
    • Samsung SSD 840 Series 120GB
    • LiteOn iHOS104 BluRay
    Thanks in advance.



    Best regards,

    Martin
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    At the moment menus are problematic (those that use BD-J will not work).
    You will always get a list of titles to play (there are normally a few on a disc) and you can select the one that looks right.

    For internal playback you need decryption software (Any DVD / DVDFab) and this will then play just like a local video file.
    You can use something like PowerDVD / TMT to handle the actual playback and launch this from MP but whilst you will get full meny support, integration is not always brilliant.
     
  4. MaKin

    MaKin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 9, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thank you very much!

    To make sure I understand correctly:

    If my BD uses BD-J there will be a list of titles instead of the menu.
    If my BD does not use BD-J there will be the original menu I used to see when playing it on my stand alone player?

    In both cases I have to use a decryption software (AnyDVD, DVDFab) for internal playback.

    When I instead use something like PowerDVD/TMT there will be full menu support but I might have to struggle with integration.

    If I buy PowerDVD instead of AnyDVD, will I be able to somehow use internal playback and only switch to external playback when BD-J is used?

    In both cases: Will I be able to play every (!) Original BD-Disc? This is important to me as I do not want to parallel use a stand alone player.

    Can you tell me what software you would choose/have chosen?

    Are there any know bugs like 24p stutter / freezes / lagging etc.?

    EDIT: Which solution brings full 3d-bluray-playback support? :)
     
    Last edited: June 9, 2013
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Correct

    Correct

    Yes, you need to set up some stuff so your remote can close the external player again, it's not the ideal situation ;)

    Nope, with PowerDVD you don't have on-the-fly decryption, so commercial discs won't play with the internal player. you need AnyDVD or DVDFab as decrypter, and then you can play any disc with the internal player, but BD-J discs won't have menus (but you can play the movie).
    More info on BD-J Title playback on the bottom of the Wiki:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/0_What's_New/1.3.x/Native_Blu-ray_Support


    See above answer, you really need a decrypter with the internal player.

    I would start to give it a try with the DVDFab Passkey Lite (free!):
    http://www.dvdfab.com/passkey-lite.htm

    Not if the system is set up correctly ;)

    for that we need the libbluray.dll to support 3D playback. Same goes for BD-J support.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. MaKin

    MaKin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 9, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thank you! :)

    Ok, I guess I've got that right then! :) But with the on-the-fly-decryption (anyDVD) I will be able to play every original movie disc except for 3D and the BD-J movie thing?

    Are there any issues with HD-Audio?

    A possible solution for 3D playback is PowerDVD as from what I've read.

    2D-Bluray: MePo with internal playback (AnyDVD), perfectly integrated
    3D-Bluray: external playback (PowerDVD), not integrated
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Should be possible, but I can't make any promisses. If you encounter a disc that won't play, feel free to supply the team with a sample and we'll look into it.

    Not that i know of

    That's correct, but you have to keep in mind that MediaPortal doesn't now if a BD is 2D or 3D. We have multiple plugins that can handle video (like MyVideos & MovingPictures for example), so what you could do is set up 1 of the above for only 3D Movies + set an external player, and use the other plugin for the rest of your movies ;)
     
    Last edited: June 9, 2013
  8. MaKin

    MaKin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 9, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    You just made my day HomeY! :) Thank you very much. In a few short sentences you solved every possible problem that came into my mind. :)
    As soon as I receive the hardware parts I am going to try it out! ;-)

    Would you recommend Win7 or Win8 as a basis for MediaPortal? As a student I have access to both of them.
     
  9. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I'm running with Win 8 and happy with it ;)
    And you'll get a free Start button to go with that in a couple of months, so i'd say: Win 8
     
  10. MaKin

    MaKin Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 9, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Haha, with Windows Blue you mean? ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Very good choice of hardware. I like that you went with 2x2gb 1866 that will help that onboard gpu a lot. If you were intending to run tv-server for live tv on this pc, then I would add an additional 2-4gb for timeshifting, so the SSD isn't used for timeshifting. But if you didn't do that your setup would still be fine. You are missing remote control,case,psu,tv card(if needed). If you want to save money you can downgrade to the A6-5XXX cpu. The cpu fan is likely to be the loudest part of your htpc, unless your case/psu has exceptionally loud fans.

    For operating system, if I owned both I'd use Win7, if I was buying one or the other, I'd get Win8.
     
    Last edited: June 10, 2013
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!