abc.com with no geographic restrictions (or this is how much I love my wife)

Discussion in 'OnlineVideos' started by corporate_gadfly, December 7, 2011.

  1. corporate_gadfly

    corporate_gadfly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I am planning to write a plugin for abc.com (US).

    The individual video episode page for all of the shows for abc shows a "You appear to be outside the United States or its territories. Due to international rights agreements, we only offer this video to viewers located within the United States and its territories."



    But the actual RTMP videos are not geolocked. So, now the trick is how to deduce the RTMP URL. Looking at the the code for ABC module from get-flash-videos, this is possible (for now) by looking at the thumbnail URL.

    If anyone else is adventurous enough, here is the plan (do let me know if you begin before me):
    1. Look at the RSS feed for list of all shows
    2. For individual shows, follow the link and then find the URL for the RSS feed for that show and then look at its contents
    3. Look at the thumbnail URL for each episode and convert it to RTMP
    This is how much I love my wife (since I'm doing all this only because she want to watch episodes of One Life to Live).
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. clobber

    clobber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 12, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Re: abc.com (or this is how much I love my wife)

    Ahh, this would be interesting. Please post your results!
     
  4. corporate_gadfly

    corporate_gadfly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Re: abc.com (or this is how much I love my wife)

    This is now working (just published to list of supported sites). Based on feedback, I might polish it a little bit (time permitting).
     
  5. clobber

    clobber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 12, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Hmm....not working for me. I imported it from the Global sites. In the Online Videos configuration it is the only site that I have that shows up highlighted in red (not sure what that means). In MePo, I dont even see the site. I think something is wrong.
     
  6. corporate_gadfly

    corporate_gadfly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Looks like the latest dll is not downloaded. Could you check in the OnlineVideos.log for a line like:
    Code (Text):
    1. Looking for SiteUtils in Assembly: OnlineVideos.Sites.corporategadfly
    and see if the timestamp is recent.
     
  7. clobber

    clobber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 12, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    All I could find it that log was the following:

    Code (Text):
    1. [01-29 22:45:08,587] [OVInit      ] [INFO ] Using language 'en'
    2. [01-29 22:45:08,602] [OVInit      ] [WARN ] Cannot find translation file 'C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Language\OnlineVideos\en.xml'.  Falling back to English (US)
    3. [01-29 22:45:08,743] [OVInit      ] [INFO ] Thumbnails will be stored in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Thumbs\OnlineVideos\ with a maximum age of 20 days.
    4. [01-29 22:45:09,555] [OVInit      ] [INFO ] Loaded 95 sites from OnlineVideoSites.xml
    5. [01-29 22:45:11,540] [OVInit      ] [WARN ] SiteUtil with name: ABC not found!
    6. [01-29 22:45:11,634] [OVInit      ] [INFO ] Created 31 SiteUtils
     
  8. offbyone
    • Team MediaPortal

    offbyone Development Group

    Joined:
    April 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +3,303 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Set you logging to Verbosity: Debug in MP Configuration, so you/we can see more.
     
  9. corporate_gadfly

    corporate_gadfly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    That suggests that the dll is old.
    We can confirm that by looking at the timestamp if you increase verbosity.

    Try a full update (hopefully that will pull the new dll).
     
  10. clobber

    clobber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 12, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Well, I went to set the logging to debug and then magically everything worked. Might have been that I let it update all sites again. Not sure, but it works.

    I dont suppose this would work for the other networks?

    Thanks!
     
  11. corporate_gadfly

    corporate_gadfly Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Glad it worked out. Unfortunately, no such luck with the other American networks. I almost got Fox working at one point. It is definitely geo-locked and I never finished it.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!