AC3 Audio out of sync/AC3 Problems | Page 2

Discussion in '0.2.0.0 Release Candidate 3 Release and CVS Bugs' started by imported_KRA, March 19, 2006.

  1. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I have audio sync issues with the 4/10/2006 SVN. Pausing/restartign does not fix the issue. Audio lags about a second behind video.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP2
    CPU Type: Pentium 4
    Memory: 1GB PC3200
    Motherboard: Asus P4PE800 Deluxe
    Motherboard Chipset: i865PE
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: Gigabyte 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 83.60
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card AC3: Optical Out
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Vbox DTA-150
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: BDA
    2. TV Card: Fusion 5 Lite
    2. TV Card Type: ATSC
    2. TV Card Driver: BDA
    Video Codec: NVidia Purevideo
    Audio Codec: Mpeg/AC3/DD.../Nvidia Audio Decoder
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: OTA
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC03V
    Power Supply: Silvertsone Strider 400w
    Remote: MCE USA
    TV: Philips 30PW8520 (30" Widescreen CRT)
    TV - HTPC Connection: Component

    Using the 4-13-06 SVN Build, I have duplicated the original poster's issue. On my setup, all TV channels have AC3 sound.

    Start MyTV, enable timeshifting and watch it for a while. The audio progressively becomes out of sync. Rewinding a bit into the TS buffer fixes the issue.

    Also, when viewing TV without TS on, after a time, the audio begins to to go crazy. The signal drops in and out, My audio receiver indicates that it is intermittently getting a signal. I have to completely stop myTV in order to resolve the issue.

    I think the 2 issues are related to AC3 in the OTA broadcast somehow.

    I've attached logs, but they really don't seem to show anything amiss, as far as I can tell.

    edit: Added the issue to Mantis: http://mantis.team-mediaportal.com/view.php?id=737
     
  4. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    so this is a Timeshift+AC3 related issue?
    does not occur with Timeshift=off?
     
  5. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    It does not occur with TS off.

    However, after a time, with TS off, AC3 sound will have a different issue. The signal drops in and out. The timing when this happens is about the same timing as when the Audio becomes out of sync when TS is on, so I think the issues are related.
     
  6. imported_KRA

    imported_KRA Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 19, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I see it has been confirmed as a bug now, that's good, because I just watched a movie (AC3) with my FloppyDTV-S, and noticed that the sound was drifting away from the image... a quick 15 second skip back and it was back in sync, or at least almost...
     
  7. bradsjm
    • Premium Supporter

    bradsjm Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 28, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant Practice Head
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP2
    CPU Type: AMD 64 3200+ [Socket 939]
    Memory: 1GB
    Motherboard: ASUS A8N-VM CSM
    Motherboard Chipset: NVIDIA nForce 430
    Motherboard Bios: ASUS 0702
    Video Card: NVIDIA 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 84.21
    Sound Card: AuzenTech X-Plosion
    Sound Card AC3: Optical Out
    Sound Card Driver: 5.12
    1. TV Card: Avermedia A180
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: 1.2.2.23
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    Video Codec: NVIDIA PureVideo 4020.203
    Audio Codec: AC3Filter 1.0.1.0
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Origen AE X15
    Power Supply: Seasonic 430W
    Remote: MCE 2005
    TV: BENQ Projector
    TV - HTPC Connection: VGA (800x453)

    This issue is easily reproducable for me. I have the Avermedia A180. It works fine in SageTV but audio is out of sync immediately when I go into any TV channel and then gets worse the longer I view. This is without timeshifting.

    I've tried different audio and video decoders, Nvidia, Avermedia etc. and audio decoders (NVidia, AC3Filter etc.) with no perceptable difference. Logs are attached.
     
  8. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks brad! Good to have another ATSC user onboard. I'm glad you use an a180 becasue it is quite popular.
    I added your log and the contents of your post to Mantis. http://mantis.team-mediaportal.com/view.php?id=737

    These AC3 issues seem to be real buggers.
     
  9. petteram

    petteram Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 4, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    KRA.
    which channels have AC3?
    You are using Canal Digital?
    I always have TS on and I have optical out from my soundcard
    to my Logitech Z-5500 speakers, but havent noticed any sync problems.
     
  10. Commodore 64
    • Premium Supporter

    Commodore 64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2005
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Windows Version: Windows XP SP2
    CPU Type: Pentium 4
    Memory: 1GB PC3200
    Motherboard: Asus P4PE800 Deluxe
    Motherboard Chipset: i865PE
    Motherboard Bios:
    Video Card: Gigabyte 6600GT
    Video Card Driver: 83.60
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Sound Card AC3: Optical Out
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Vbox DTA-150
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: BDA
    2. TV Card: Fusion 5 Lite
    2. TV Card Type: ATSC
    2. TV Card Driver: BDA
    Video Codec: NVidia Purevideo
    Audio Codec: NVidia Audio Decoder
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: OTA
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC03V
    Power Supply: Silvertsone Strider 400w
    Remote: MCE USA
    TV: Philips 30PW8520 (30" Widescreen CRT)
    TV - HTPC Connection: Component

    This morning, I left the TV on when I went to work. MP was using the Fusion5Lite to tune WKYC-HD. When my wife woke up some time later, she said the audio was gone, so she dropped out of MyTV, and back in to MyTV and said there was audio, but no picture.

    I glanced through the MP log, and I noticed that there is an instance of "No Signal Detected", which is odd because WKYC-HD always tunes fine. I can't help but thing these issues are somehow related to bug 00697.

    uploaded Fusion5_NoTSlog.rar to document this instance.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!