[solved] - AC3 filter for Music playing

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by marttoma, January 3, 2016.

  1. marttoma
    • Premium Supporter

    marttoma MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Ratings:
    +69 / 6
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    I would like to ask you for support - how to use AC3 filter for playing of Music files.

    The reason for AC3 filter is to play audio DTS and AC3 files in MP, AFAIK LAV liters in "Codec and Renderer" setting can play only DTS if I have dtsdecoder.dll, which I have from Total Media SW, but it does not play dolby files (AC3). I am not using SPDIF but I have connected 6 channel power amplifier to analog output of my HTPC with Realtek ALC 887 chip.

    Now I found out AC3 filter, which can be used instead of LAV filters in "Codec and Renderer" and this AC3 filter can handle DTS and AC3 files without any problem. AC3 filter can set up also equalization for each channel separately, which Realtek audio driver does not do.

    My issue is I can not find the way, how to allow to use AC3 filter also for Music files - I can select only from Bass engine, WASAPI and internal dshow player. As I dont want to have 2 audio settings - 1 for Live TV, DVD, BR and video files and 1 for music files -> I would like to use also AC3 filter for music files as well, but no idea how to do it.



    Can someone help me, please?

    Thank you.
    marttoma
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I'm trying to achieve that myself. It seems like you need to use dshow but even then it won't pick up AC3Filter for some reason.
    @Testers
    @SuperUser
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    So have you checked your codec merit settings?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Not sure how to do that no.
     
  6. Helios61
    • Premium Supporter

    Helios61 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Playback of .dts and .ac3 Files should work ootB in WASAPI mode.
    Playback audiofiles with ac3filter, lavf, ffdshow...isn't possible afaik.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    What I want is to play any supported music through AC3Filter so has to upmix 2.0 to 5.1.
     
  8. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Alright I found out how to do the upmix with BASS:

    upload_2017-1-6_22-15-17.png

    Thus I can use AC3Filter for movies and BASS for music.
    Marking that thread has solved I guess since the main goal was to achieve music upmix not to use the AC3Filter.
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    For your original request (just in case somebody is still interested for some reason)...

    AFAIK in order for AC3Filter (or any other particular filter) to be used, AC3Filter must have the highest merit setting among all codecs that are capable of handling the media format.
    There are many available tools that could enable you to check and change codec merits (Filmerit, GraphStudio etc.).

    --- General warning to all readers ---
    In my opinion changing codec merits is a "power-user" or expert task because it affect all programs. I'd strongly recommend to learn a bit about DirectShow codecs and codec merits before you make any changes. I take no responsibility for problems caused by following the instructions below.
    --- end of warning ---

    Filmerit...
    http://paul.glagla.free.fr/filmerit_en.htm

    upload_2017-1-7_10-13-28.png

    Click Display (top menu) -> Edit Merits (or click merit editor - first icon in the fourth group from the left at the top).

    upload_2017-1-7_10-17-20.png

    Now you can enter the new merit value. Values are hexadecimal numbers.

    In order to apply the change, you must go out of read-only mode first (padlock in the top right corner). Pay attention to the warnings.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Add to Wiki! Add to Wiki! x 1
  10. marttoma
    • Premium Supporter

    marttoma MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Praha
    Ratings:
    +69 / 6
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    I had same opinium in past, but not today. In my case I did not like these two things:
    1) the volume level of music via BASS was different against to the volume for video/TV/DVD files
    2) the audio qulity - i.e. surroug effect for 5+1 configuration was different (with Ac3 better) with AC3 filter against to the BASS

    AC3 filter as I mentioned above can set up more then standard realtek audio driver - as far as I rememeber:
    1) equalization setting level per each speaker
    2) frequency equalization setting by user
    3) LFE setting to the front speakers or to the loud speaker - for both limited frequency can be set up
    4) plenty of settings for surround
    5) DRC

    I think it is benefit to set up audio for all type of files in one codec SW to keep audio quality on same level for all type of content. Would it be possible to implement AC3 support in to the Music part of MePo? The merit is the way, but as mm1352000 mentioned above, it affects all programs...

    I am using AC3 almost 3 years without any crash by now.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Just a quick, off-topic, correction - LAV Audio Decoder can decode AC3 and DTS (including DTS-HD natively since version 0.65, so it does not need dtsdecoder.dll to do that).
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!