[Finished] Add dialog for plugins (OV, Webradio..) that ask about concurrent playback (1 Viewer)

Holzi

Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 21, 2010
    7,930
    2,234
    Ba-Wü
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #1
    Hello!
    If I have local media or LiveTV playing and then wanna start Webradio/OV stream the current stream stops and the plugin stream starts. Therefore it is not possible to have local media streams and plugin streams playing concurrently in multiple players.
    Would be great if it is possible to achieve that plugins will act like local media playback.
    Thanks! :)
     

    Holzi

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 21, 2010
    7,930
    2,234
    Ba-Wü
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #3
    If you have something to test just tell. :)
     

    offbyone

    Development Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 26, 2008
    3,981
    3,703
    Stuttgart
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    It is easy to change the line that starts playback, but the problem is how handle this feature correctly.

    If I tell OV to start playing its videos concurrently -> they will always do so, meaning even when one OV vid is playing it will start the second one in the second player instance. This is not what you'd want.
    I also dont want a dialog always asking me if I want to play concurrent or not.

    So what would be the best way @Holzi ? What is the intended use case?
     

    Holzi

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 21, 2010
    7,930
    2,234
    Ba-Wü
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #5
    What is the intended use case?
    The intended use case is to play a OV stream and a Webradio stream concurrently for example. :) Thats not possible atm. Same goes for LiveTV & OV or LiveTV & Webradio.

    I also dont want a dialog always asking me if I want to play concurrent or not.
    I understand this. But I think it is that way if you want to play local media.
     

    offbyone

    Development Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 26, 2008
    3,981
    3,703
    Stuttgart
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    Hm, how about a middle way: (if I can get it to work)
    If there is already a player with Online Video active, I'll stop that one and start playback of the newly selected Online Video. In any other case I start playback concurrent, meaning when TV or Radio/WebStream or LocalVideo is running it will keep playing?
     

    morpheus_xx

    Lead Dev MP2
  • Team MediaPortal
  • March 24, 2007
    11,387
    6,966
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    You can use the method "PlayItemsModel.CheckQueryPlayAction(MediaItem)", which checks player state, resume handling etc.

    This is the default method from MediaLibrary. For TV I cannot use it directly, because I need to switch channels differently.
     

    chefkoch

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • October 5, 2004
    3,130
    1,630
    Dresden / Munich / Maastricht
    Germany Germany
    I also would prefer a consistent user experience not matter if I start 2 videos in OV or 2 in movies. Nevertheless I understand your opinion. Would it be possible to make that configurable based on the MediaAspects or plugin or....

    If not, no big deal. I'll have not strong opinion about it ;)
     

    Holzi

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 21, 2010
    7,930
    2,234
    Ba-Wü
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #9
    Hm, how about a middle way: (if I can get it to work)
    If there is already a player with Online Video active, I'll stop that one and start playback of the newly selected Online Video. In any other case I start playback concurrent, meaning when TV or Radio/WebStream or LocalVideo is running it will keep playing?
    I think this is a good approach, although it is not consistent with video playback as chefkoch mentioned.
    And does this have to be added by every single plugin (e.g. WebRadio too) individually or could this behaviour changed in MP2 core?
     

    offbyone

    Development Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 26, 2008
    3,981
    3,703
    Stuttgart
    Germany Germany
    Country flag
    It would be a Onlinevideos specific behaviour (simply due to the fact that the video content is streamed and streaming two video at the same time could easily saturate your connection or not be allowed by the server).

    And to go further it could be made an OV setting, so you can configure it.
     

    Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

    OP Similar threads Forum Replies Date
    ajs [WiP] 5030: Add UHD Thumb size to TV Server MediaPortal 1 0
    ajs [fixed] 5029: Add the ability to choose the type of pause for designers in the slideshow MediaPortal 1 4
    P MP 2 - Request to add an additional TV series Filename protocal Feature Requests 0
    raffe How to add 500+ streams? OnlineVideos 1
    T How to add missing buttons IR Server Suite (IRSS) 0
    R [solved] Moving pictures importer wont add files from a removable drive. Is there a work around ? Moving Pictures 8
    cbr954rr Possibillity to add more Movie Folders in Menu General 5
    ajs [solved] 4935: Add string.replace function to Skin engine MediaPortal 1 10
    haaitje Crashes when trying to add lyrics MPTagThat 0
    H Add site to home OnlineVideos 5
    E Can I add folder icons to my list of videos MediaPortal 1 Talk 9
    Timothy Cobb Mediaportal 2 Weather - Can't add Weather locations Plugin Development 5
    E How can I add some site to Online Video Plugin ? OnlineVideos 4
    J silly question: where do I add my login details!! OnlineVideos for MediaPortal 2 5
    ajs 4911: Add properties support to TextColor and TextColorNoFocus MediaPortal 1 5
    O How to edit the scheduled stop time on a recording with negative minutes to resolve conflicts Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server) 0
    ltfearme Exception thrown when SetText in GUI Notification dialog Titan Skin Feedback 3
    BigGranu [Help Me!] User Info Popup/Dialog or ??? MediaPortal 2 1
    zunixnuz DefaultWideHD exit dialog Default Skins Feedback 3
    joecrow 1.25.0 Radio Time plugin fails after Resume from Sleep with MP 1.25 Bugreports 3
    P MP2: US user, OTA - can NOT get SchedulesDirect plugin to work on MP1 or MP2 --> how do I get OTA schedule? General 5
    E aktuelle englische Forums Webseite von - Showtime Plugin v3 Plugins & Erweiterungen 2
    mrmojo666 [Tv Server Plugin ]Direct Show Video Control Plugin 0.0.0.1 for Hauppauge PVR cards MediaPortal 1 Plugins 0
    joecrow MultiShortcut Plugin (Uavailable) in DWHD skin General Support 58
    vapourEyes Building TV Plugin General Development (no feature request here!) 49
    Similar threads

























    Top Bottom