[Videos] - Adding madVR support | Page 5

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by Klarerwind, March 17, 2011.

  1. te3hpurp
    • Premium Supporter

    te3hpurp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 23, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Architect
    Location:
    Rovaniemi
    Ratings:
    +229 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    :D:D:D



    Because I really dont know anything about madVR or EVR code of Mp or managed code of directshowhelper, which controls
    EVR I just mad a little test. Changed madVR to graph instead of our custom EVR. And Because I know nothing, It might be stupid thing to do. Tested in dev pc which has wrong refresh rate ie 60 instead of 50Hz.

    And I dont know If madVR is doing it's fancy things it is supposed to do.

    GUI works, playback works. Image attached.

    Forgive me, for sticking my nose here, That I know nothing :p

    Br,
     

    Attached Files:

    • madvr.jpg
      madvr.jpg
      File size:
      241.8 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 21, 2011
      Views:
      348
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. madshi

    madshi Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    That's not madVR. The madVR OSD looks different.
     
  4. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    That screen shot looks like MP's custom EVR renderer is used (madVR has quite different looking stats :)).

    MediaPortal wont be able to mix the video content to it's GUI unless the renderer directly calls to the custom interface.
     
  5. te3hpurp
    • Premium Supporter

    te3hpurp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 23, 2008
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    182
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Software Architect
    Location:
    Rovaniemi
    Ratings:
    +229 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Show System Specs
    yep, And subtitles are not working....:)
    Aren't thos stats goming from directshowhelper, which is still in use. I did not thouch that..
     

    Attached Files:

    • Hmm.jpg
      Hmm.jpg
      File size:
      130 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 21, 2011
      Views:
      239
  6. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hi all,

    Im following this thread with much much interest. :)
    IF it goes well: Does madVR in MP also mean the rendering is the same between XP/Vista/w7? I would welcome this fact alone.

    Its a bit quite here now, but I hope discussions around this topic are still ongoing. Here or in an other forum doesnt matter to me. :) Please keep in mind that even if this turns out not an option for MP1, it could still be considdered for MP2 deveopment. :)

    Regards!
     
  7. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    It shouldn't be used - dshowhelper.dll is EVR presenter + few other things. Renderer itself is rendering the stats to the video frame.
     
  8. BlackdogZA

    BlackdogZA Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    +1 in favour of a MadVr option
     
  9. Andy22

    Andy22 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 3
    Im using madVR 0.74 and DXVA + HW deinterlacing + subtitles works just fine in MPC-HC and PotPlayer? Seems this changed very recently. [EDIT: DXVA works only in potPlayer, MPC-HC uses Cuda via CoreCodec 3.01]

    The main advantage of madVR is proper GPU accelerated scaling and video calibration support, paired with the ability to fix the annoying colorspace/level output problems at the end of the video chain.
    If i use manVR set to correct TV output, than it don't matter what player i use i always get the correct btb/wtw/gamma outputs, while if i use EVR or VMR9 it is player dependent if those are correct.

    Atm i still cant get MP to correctly convert the output to my Plasmas levels, since i cant configure them in MP at all. While using madVR i can test and manipulate those.

    I read all the concerns and problems regarding madVR support, but the reality remains that id rather use madVR + the external player option than MP + EVR. This ofc is kinda sad, since i loose a lot of the "comfort" of MP. Regarding controls and gui while watching a movie, i simply don't need them. A simply seekbar like MPC-HC uses with the exclusive madVR mode is all i need, if i don't have to worry about all the other problems and get proper scaling.

    So why not allow simply madVR support, like u allow a external player? I don't care if i loose some gui, but its still better than starting an external player or use the "problematic" MP + EVR in my setup.

    bye Andy
     
  10. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    No, you are not.
    DXVA/HW deinterlacing does not working with madVR (and i doubt it will ever be).

    known problems / limitations:

    - DVD playback with navigation/menu currently only works in XP, but not in newer OSs
    - hardware accelerated video decoding (DXVA) is currently not supported
    - hardware accelerated deinterlacing (DXVA) is currently not supported

    - no manual color controls (brightness, contrast, saturation, hue)

    You can only use CUDA or Cyberlink HAM decoder to have HW acceleration with madVR.
    We need to wait until nev add DXVA2.0 support to his LAV video decoder :)
     
  11. Andy22

    Andy22 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 3
    So u know my playback setup without even asking "how" i got it to work, thx for simply assuming i'm an idiot.

    Configuring PotPlayer for GPU-accelerated video playback with DirectX Video Acceleration (DXVA), Compute Unified Device Architecture (CUDA) or high-performance software decoding

    I have the DXVA setup running without a problem and yes i can easily spot if DXVA and madVR is used. I get the madVR tray icon and my Atom CPU is not capable of decoding 1080p h264 in the CPU and no CUDA/LAVCUVID is also not used since i can check the filtergraph in potplayer.

    bye Andy
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!