Adding new channels to WebEPG? (1 Viewer)

turtle_07

October 1, 2007
I've used media portal for maybe about 8 hours now. Everything is really smooth, and neat. Except for the guide function.

I don't even understand how the built in XML grabber is supposed to work, and WebEPG has a nice guide and is really easy to use... but I only have one web site to choose from (I'm in the US, and the only website it lists is yahoo). Now i'll admit that my college has a lot of small New York based fox affiliates and such and those might be weird, but when one of the forty offered channels isn't Cartoon Network or Comedy Central, that's a little weird.

How can I go about adding new websites and channels to the WebEPG?

kkendall

Portal Pro
April 24, 2007
Gouda
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
Hi turtle,
That's what I'm trying to figure out for a while now...(in my case for the Netherlands)

There is a webguide of how to add new EPGwebsites, but I'm not a programmer and don't know how to start...
Unfortunately, to this point, nobody seems to be able/want to help me on my way. :(

Maybe you can figure out what to do or how to start:
http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/MediaPortal_Setup_Customising_WebEPG
Please let me know if you can figure out how to start for the website you prefer to use. :)

turtle_07

October 1, 2007
I saw the link when I was in the process of installing media portal. I can kinda make out how it works, and if I had to I imagine I could add new channels.

It still says nothing about where to get this new channels from and how to add the websites.

Thanks though.

kkendall

Portal Pro
April 24, 2007
Gouda
Home Country
Netherlands Netherlands
If you want to add EPG to new channels that are not available yet, you have to find a website that has EPG for these channels.