aMPed HD (1920 x 1080), based on aMPed v3.6.3.2060 | Page 2

Discussion in 'aMPed' started by 2BitSculptor, October 21, 2015.

  1. Olli123

    Olli123 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 3, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +17 / 1
    Mhhh i dont understand this.

    My TV is already running on full HD resolution 1920x1080.
    I´m using aMPed normal version and this is, because of the tv resolution, running in HD.



    Using now the HD skin make it.................looking better? Or what will it do?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    290
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    .... although your TV is at 1920x1080, aMPed is displaying at 1280x720, but being scaled to full HD. So your full HD TV shows are being displayed at 1280x720, but with scaled up pixels. ... at least this is my understanding. Making aMPed full HD will display then HD programs at HD resolution with no up-scaling. I could be wrong, with the codec possibly displaying independently of MP and using the PC video res settings. Even so, ... fan art and full HD backgrounds would be sized properly according to aMPed HD screen size.

    Since Defaultwide and many other skins are shifting to full HD, I thought it would be appropriate for aMPed to move forward in HD.

    Chuck
     
  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +960 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    That is not my understanding. :eek:

    My understanding is that full-screen video displays at 1920x1080, but that the "Amped" panels display at 1280x720 upscaled to 1920x1080. (y)

    With any luck, someone who actually knows will be along shortly...

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  5. wizard123
    • Team MediaPortal

    wizard123 Design Group

    Joined:
    January 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    genius
    Ratings:
    +2,919 / 11
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Using a 720 skin on a 1080 tv does not affect displayed video at all the GUI just scales accordingly.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. wizard123
    • Team MediaPortal

    wizard123 Design Group

    Joined:
    January 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    genius
    Ratings:
    +2,919 / 11
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Shifting to 1080 for skins just means we can fit more on screen and have nicer layouts etc
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  7. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,221
    Likes Received:
    4,961
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,364 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    ... and the adapted GFX should look more crispy ;)
     
  8. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,221
    Likes Received:
    4,961
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,364 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No, the video codecs know that your screen´s original resolution is 1920 x 1080 and displays accordingly ;)
     
  9. wizard123
    • Team MediaPortal

    wizard123 Design Group

    Joined:
    January 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    genius
    Ratings:
    +2,919 / 11
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Mmmm chicken lol
     
  10. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,221
    Likes Received:
    4,961
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,364 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hehehe, nice typo - I meant crisp ;)
     
  11. TLD

    TLD Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 26, 2007
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Rainy Washington
    Ratings:
    +86 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I know this is an old thread but is Amped still able to work. I'm using MP 1.19?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!