Another TVService lost issue... | Page 2

Discussion in '1.1.x and SVN Builds' started by mrspock, October 16, 2010.

  1. Pitscho
    • Premium Supporter

    Pitscho MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 18, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Another TVService lost issue...

    i have the same problem

    i also have the technisat skystar 2, i saw this error in the logs too.

    in my case, the lose of the tvserver happens after resuming from standby. tvserver crashes completely. disabling the sat epg totally seems to help.



    i think i will throw my sakystar in the dump whenever i have some money to replace it.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    Did you try 1.2.0?
    I have no problems with it
     
  4. Pitscho
    • Premium Supporter

    Pitscho MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 18, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Re: Another TVService lost issue...

    i use 1.2.0 since it is available, i am still testing. epg really seems to be the problem, well i can use webepg, but not all broadcasters are available there.


    i have to say is had problems with this cards (i have two, different revisions) since i have them, they never really worked perfectly, bda drivers are totally crap.
    the only program who works perfect with this cards is dvbviewer, but this is no alternative for me for my htpc.
     
  5. polarie
    • Team MediaPortal

    polarie Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Hasloh (near Hamburg)
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Another TVService lost issue...

    hmm not sure if i have the same problem ---

    discribtion:

    Multi Seat Installation
    MePo 1.1.2.0 on all machines
    WinXP SP3


    Yesterday - did a record "Das perfekte Diner" for my wife -
    while record was running i zapped around a bit in my own Video Database
    so the record was complete - and MePo did the pop-up that the recording was stopped.
    when she came back she wanted to look the recording (was nearly 10 past 20)


    so - stopped my movie - clickt to MyTV - records -
    connection lost - wrong IP adress or something like that.
    also LiveTV was not working
    only (cold) restarting via. 5 Sec. Power-Knob brought the TV-Server back in the net
    (by the way RDP also not available - Ping TV-Server also no echo)

    in my case, i prefer the thougth - that i have a LAN-Card problem
    but in WinXP "Ereignisanzeige" i have about 2485 entries about MySQL
    about 2475 have the same input.

    Typ: Fehler
    Quelle: MySQL
    Kategorie: Keine
    Ereignis: 100
    Benutzer: nicht zutreffend
    Computer: TV-Server

    Discribtion (sorry for posting it in german)
    Die Beschreibung der Ereigniskennung ( 100 ) in ( MySQL ) wurde nicht gefunden.
    Der lokale Computer verfügt nicht über die zum Anzeigen der Meldungen von
    einem Remotecomputer erforderlichen Registrierungsinformationen oder DLL-Meldungsdateien.
    Möglicherweise müssen Sie das Flag /AUXSOURCE= zum Ermitteln der Beschreibung verwenden.
    Weitere Informationen stehen in Hilfe und Support.
    Ereignisinformationen: Got error 134 when reading table '.\mptvdb\program'



    this fault came about 30-40 times a Second...

    any ideas?
    could this be a part of my disconect problem?
     
  6. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: Re: Another TVService lost issue...

    Do you use bda drivers?
    Hmm, my WDM drivers work perfectly and 1.2.0 seems to be the first stable release
     
  7. polarie
    • Team MediaPortal

    polarie Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Hasloh (near Hamburg)
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Another TVService lost issue...

    my error is solved -
    was a database crash -

    but i don't know why my repair.cmd did not do its job ?
    for those cases i have .bat and .cmd files that should do the job ... *strange*
    never mind - now it is working again ...


    so i used jameson_uk's cmd line -
    that did the job very well.

    :D @ jameson_uk

    now i have to test if "tv-service lost" comes again when i look a few movies from
    my server and after THAT start LiveTV again ...

    time will bring the answer :)
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,735
    Ratings:
    +8,201 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Just to let you all know:

    - It is *always* recommended to use the WDM drivers with the Skystar tuners. We have specific code in TV Server to support the use of the WDM driver since the BDA driver is known to be unstable.
    - Some of the issues talked about here are clearly database failures - nothing to do with TV Server.
    - The advice to use a static IP address is *very* good - it will greatly improve stability for resuming from sleep/hibernate.
    - Sometimes it is necessary to delay the restart of TV Server after resuming from sleep/hibernate to give tuner drivers the chance to reload properly. The EPG grabber will often try to grab EPG straight after resume because it hasn't grabbed EPG for awhile. If you don't force it to wait until the tuner driver is ready then the EPG grabber will certainly cause problems.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    "use a static IP address is *very* good", of course.
    But some network storages, like nasty Netgear SC101, need DHCP to be used.
    In this case the best way is to use "static DHCP" by "sticking" the given dynamic address in your router to the MAC address of your PC.
    Plus - using in MP's and TVServer's consoles "192.*" as the TVServer's address instead of TVServer's name.

    You don't have to use any delay, which slows down the process of resuming from hibernation, - just uncheck "grab EPG when idle"
    Or use something like nnCron.
    Make a script for nnCron which stops TVServer when resuming, restarts SS2 driver using driver control executive or anything else, starts TVServer, waits for TVServer.exe process to appear and starts MP.
    Works perfectly.
     
  10. polarie
    • Team MediaPortal

    polarie Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    140
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    self-employed
    Location:
    Hasloh (near Hamburg)
    Ratings:
    +147 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: Another TVService lost issue...

    Hi mm13520000

    what kind of EPG (DVB) settings should be choosen?

    allways try ti fill holes? yes/no
    always try to update? yes/no
    enable CRC check? yes/no
    EPG grapping while timeshift/recording? yes/no
    EPG grapping while IDLE? yes/no

    and a question (to the last 2 points in my list):

    means "timeout" - it stopps grapping after X-minutes?
    or it starts grapping after x-minutes?

    regards

    Polarie

    EDIT:

    isn't it possible to bring in a simple "delay-tim" for the EPG grapping?
    (if that is the reason for the connection-lost-issue... and if it is that simple ;) )
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,735
    Ratings:
    +8,201 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Re: AW: Re: Another TVService lost issue...

    Hi polarie

    It is really up to your personal preference. In my opinion, the most important settings are:

    If you only enable the first option then the EPG for each channel will only be updated when you tune to the corresponding transponder or multiplex. For example:

    Mux 1: channel a, channel b, channel c
    Mux 2: channel d, channel e, channel f

    If you start watching channel a, b or c then the EPG for all of those channels will be updated. The EPG for channels d, e and f will not be updated until you watch one of those channels.

    If you enable the second option TV Server will update the EPG for all your channels automatically when you aren't using a particular tuner. For example:

    Tuner 1 (DVB-C/DVB-T): mux 1, mux 2
    Tuner 2 (DVB-S/DVB-S2): transponder 1, transponder 2

    If you're watching a channel on mux 2 then TV Server can use the second tuner to grab the EPG for channels on transponder 1 and transponder 2 (as long as nobody else is using tuner 2, and you're not using it for recording). For this option, the update frequency is controlled by the "refresh every..." setting.

    It means that TV Server will stop grabbing after X minutes.

    I hope that helps :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!