Att. aussie users, GuideDigger replacement planning (1 Viewer)

thedigga

October 13, 2011
Home Country
I've been using the original GuideDigger by angusmann for a long time, but not being too active a TV user, only found out recently the unfortunate fate of him and his program when I went to look for updates on the missing new channels. :( RIP angusmann, loved that program.

As it happens, I'm a programmer myself, and it would seem no other (good) replacement has appeared. I'm contemplating creating a new aussie grabber project, hoping for some feedback here, at least some expression of interest if people are still looking (perhaps there's already a good alternative and I just missed it).

In particular, what site(s) would carry the best/most recently updated info to grab?

My thoughts currently are:

make the app behave fairly similar to the old GuideDigger, but
drop the ftp idea,
freetoair only to start with

Anyway, its food for thought. Any feedback appreciated.

SiLenTYL

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 23, 2004
    Melbourne
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    i just use my dvb-t tuner to get me the EPG data

also if you check the option to "keep checking" or something like that it will constantly update programs and times so you dont miss out on anything

thedigga

October 13, 2011
    Home Country
    Why not just use:

EPG Collector | Free software downloads at SourceForge.net

Designed for NZ, but now being used by heaps of Aussies .... and it doesnt involve any scraping etc

If one can assume the stations keep their streams properly updated, I guess there wouldnt be any point in this for MediaPortal use, since the tv server can get EPG from the streams? The "if" is why I contemplated grabbing. :)

i just use my dvb-t tuner to get me the EPG data

also if you check the option to "keep checking" or something like that it will constantly update programs and times so you dont miss out on anything