[solved] - Audio playing mutiple times over video and crashing

Discussion in 'General' started by cladinshadows85, March 16, 2019.

Loading...
  1. cladinshadows85

    cladinshadows85 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    I have recently switched from MP1 to MP2 and finding a few anomalies:



    When I play a tv show in the Series, I often find MP2 crashes, I have to reload about 2 times before it plays the file without issues
    Often just be MP2 crashes the audio of the file is played twice with a slight delay. On rare occasions I can stop playback (without crashing) play the file again and it appears the audio track is being played multiple times again.

    I have done a clean reinstall of MP2.2 last night, which initially seemed to appear the TV Shows issue was fixed but then today under Movies, I had the kids watching Ice Age 5 at 2/3 into the film it suddenly stopped as though it was at the end, it was flagged as completely watched (file works fine in VLC to the end).

    There has never been issues with watching TV.

    Attached are the logs from client and server (as i run multiseat) before and after I have reinstalled MP2.2

    Many thanks in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    The client event log show always the same .NET error, the last time yesterday at 23:16. Unfortunately the corresponding client log (client.3.log) was taken at INFO level, hence nothing is logged. What I don't understand is that the server log is in DEBUG and I wonder how you achieved that.

    Please set log level to DEBUG from the client settings menu. When the client crashes, collect client logs and upload it here.

    The .Net errors could indicate a problem of your Windows installation, but that's mere guessing without a log.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. cladinshadows85

    cladinshadows85 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Thanks @HTPCSourcer

    I have adjusted the log level to DEBUG and have replicated the same error and attached the new logs.

    Cheers!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the log.

    The last crash occurred at 23:15:49. However, the log is not telling much, but the event log does. The .Net error is
    The issue might be due to faulty Microsoft .NET 4 updates.

    You could try to repair your .NET setup by removing and reinstalling it:
    1. Download .NET CleanUp tool and clean the existing .NET 4 installation
    2. Restart the client PC
    3. Run the MP2 setup again and do a repair installation: this should download and install any missing .NET component
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    One more thing: MP2 runs with .Net 4.7, so I wonder why the crash reports version 4.0

    Windows 10 runs . NET 4.7, which supports also 4.0 applications. So I assume that your .NET is corrupted.
     
    Last edited: March 16, 2019
  7. cladinshadows85

    cladinshadows85 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I have repaired the .NET by uninstalling/reinstalling using the Cleanup tool and reinstall MP2.2.

    However I am now running into further issues of crashing at start up, I have attached screenshot of errors and logs.

    I can run MP2 as administrator and it doesn't crash. But is a pain with the dialogue boxes. And the files play fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,160
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,339 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Right mouse click on the desktop shortcut of MP2 --> advanced --> start as admin
    Now you don't have a dialog every time. Anyhow it's better to understand why you have these problems.
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can there be a Windows restricted rights problem from the Internet blocking function?

    @cladinshadows85 , when you downloaded the zipped installer, did you explicitely tick 'Allow access' in the file properties? If not, you may want to do a test:

    Uninstall MP2 from the apps section.
    Download the MP 2.2 once again and check the file properties before you unpack. Tick the "Allow" box
    Unpack and launch the installer as normal user

    Your configurations and files remain untouched and you will be at the same place as before.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Threadmarks: solve
    cladinshadows85

    cladinshadows85 Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Just an update,

    You were right on this one, after a fresh install of Windows 10 and MP2.2, all issues are resolved.

    Thanks for your support @HTPCSourcer
     
Loading...
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!