Auto3D plugin for MediaPortal 1.2 - 1.12 (GUI & TV/Beamer) | Page 3

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by Marcus Venturi, February 18, 2013.

  1. BertTRP

    BertTRP Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Great idea and great plugin! Definitely covering and important gap considering today's integration of devices!

    I personally own a 3D Panasonic beamer (i know, enlargening even more the panorame of to be supported devices!!), and i was wondering in how far you might have had implemented at this time (saw your previous post about it) the support for the mentioned "solutions with HDMI CEC adaptors working over USB" ( i presume you might be referring to this: http://www.pulse-eight.com/store/products/104-usb-hdmi-cec-adapter.aspx ).

    This seems like a pretty universal solution, even if it implies the acquisition of extra hardware, but its price seems to be as affordable as the "Control over USB-IR controller via EventGhost" solution.

    Thanks again for the great addition... greatly improving the overall experience in my opinion![DOUBLEPOST=1361453511][/DOUBLEPOST]
    If i read Sunfire7 comment properly, it means that 3D visualisation of standard 2D subtitles now automatically works "out of the box" as a consequence of your re-implementation of Mediaportal's GUI. This is GREAT news, as it's not required anymore to convert subtitles for 3D visualization using 3D subtitler!!

    I convence allowing correct visualization of 3D subtitles would be a plus... but please, please, please... make sure the current implementation is not removed!!



    Thanks again!
     
    Last edited: February 21, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. sunfire7

    sunfire7 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 24, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    Show System Specs
    I also agree that the ability of using srt without convert them is great, I just miss the subs be out of the screen, right now they are at screen level so when some object gets out of the screen near the subs area the effect is lost because of the subs.

    Maybe if is not too hard you could add custom "deep" of the subs. Or an option to not change them so the already made subs works ok

    P.S did you checked the mini screen in streamedmp? It shows messed up
     
  4. Marcus Venturi
    • Super User

    Marcus Venturi Super User

    Joined:
    March 23, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +745 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @sunfire7:

    Fixed the mini screen in streamedmp. Update attached to end of first thread. My knowledge about subtitles is (very) limited as I don't use them.

    Please provide me some details:

    Normally MediaPortal will display subtitles in 2D. For a 3D movie MediaPortal was not able to provide correct subtitles because the were disorted like the rest of the GUI.

    How were you able to see subtitles in correct 3D before?
    Does the 3D Subtitler merge the subtitles into the movie?
    Were you using the ffdshow subtitles filter?
    Could you provide me some example subtitles? It doesn't matter if they fit to any of my 3D films, I would just rename them to be shown, just to see the effect.
     
    Last edited: February 21, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pur_berger
    • Super User

    pur_berger Super User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,679
    Likes Received:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna
    Ratings:
    +270 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    So - one request - can you do the patch with the core.dll with one for ambilight?

    Atmolight core.dll
     
  6. sunfire7

    sunfire7 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 24, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    Show System Specs
    Correct

    You have to process the srt with 3D Subtitler, a Java program which makes the subs SBS or TAB to fit your 3D Movie

    3D Subtitler generates a .sub, .idx and .xml files, the subs are not burn into video

    I use the Mediaportal's built-in subs engine, which I believe is the MPC-HC engine?

    I attached the subs requested, just rename every one to the name of your movie
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: February 21, 2013
  7. Marcus Venturi
    • Super User

    Marcus Venturi Super User

    Joined:
    March 23, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +745 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @sunfire7: I will check this in the next days.

    @pur_berger: I don't have the source code for the Atmolight. But I my latest package I have again included my code patches, so the developer of Atmolight can integrate this in this code.

    Added new version to first post. This version is able to play any 3D movie in 2D mode.
    This works for SBS and TAB. The CTRL+D menu hotkey must be enabled in the settings.
    If you now start a movie in 3D mode you can call menu with CTRL+D later and turn on the 3D to 2D conversion in the menu.
     
    Last edited: February 21, 2013
    • Like Like x 3
  8. daimian

    daimian Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 11, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Well, I like the plugin!

    Sadly I forgot my LG is not a smart one so I can't test the 3d mode switching for you :( My dad has a Samsung 8500 series but do you need anymore testing on those?

    What feedback I can give you is that I tested it multiple times going back and forth between movie and GUI including changing MP settings and the switching worked excellent. However I did notice the lowered resolution (quality) of the menus (text most notable) - I assume this is a limit your unable to overcome in MP?
     
  9. Marcus Venturi
    • Super User

    Marcus Venturi Super User

    Joined:
    March 23, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +745 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is a limit is caused by design of 3D with polarized glasses. In SBS or TAB mode the image is split into 2 parts. One for the left eye and one for the right eye. Every image has only the half resolution. The next problem is, that my approach internally expands and stretches the screen output which leads to additional loss of quality. Testing on a Samsung 8500 would also make sense to ensure that switching the modes works. It would help to improve quality.
     
    Last edited: February 21, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  10. daimian

    daimian Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 11, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I will try and test on the Samsung 8500 this weekend and see if I can find more friends with 3d equipment will to help test.

    Is it possible to add the "CTRL-D" menu to a builtin GUI menu? I use a remote and was curious if I can just wait until later rather then setup a button shortcut for the "CTRL-D" menu ability. The 3d/2d mode toggle is awesome because I have a 2d and a 3d TV so saves me storing a movie twice.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. sunfire7

    sunfire7 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 24, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    Show System Specs
    I tried the new version and the mini display view now works outside Moving pictures, but inside its still messed up! (With streamedmp)

    I hope the subs thing could be fixed

    Everything else works good

    Many thanks for this plugin, it is very useful
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!