AV-Receiver-Pro's around?

Discussion in 'General' started by The_Stig, November 1, 2014.

  1. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Hi guys,

    I am running in quite a few lipsync issues and get more and more the feeling, that its related to my current hardware/cable-setup:

    Video: HDMI from HTPC directly to Samsung UE46F6890
    Audio: SPDIF from HTPC to quite old (around 10 years) Yamaha RX-V 440 AV-Receiver

    So I a m now thinking about upgrading my AV-Receiver. My budget is quite small, so currently I opt to Yamaha RX-V477. The most interesting thing for me currently is the lipsync feature which should be included. As far as I understand, all devices must support this HDMI-feature to work properly.



    What I've researched so far:
    - Motherboard (Asrock Z77 Extreme6) supports lipsync
    - Yamaha V477 supports lipsync
    - Samsung TV should support it (according to their technical hotline; nothing in the manual regarding this)

    So my first question is: has anyone experience with a similar setup like this (maybe even a Samsung TV) and can tell me, if lipsync is working?

    Quite curious for your answers...

    Cheers

    The Stig
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Illuminator

    Illuminator Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 6, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ratings:
    +32 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    first, I can't answer your questions, sorry.
    But my setup is similar Yamaha RX-V1600, Sharp LC60..., same cable-setup.
    I had lipsync problems, too. The TV (picture) was too slow. My solution was to change the TV-modus from "normal" or whatever to "game", what is nearly lagfree. This works great here, lipsync-problems are gone.

    Maybe it is worth a try....

    Illuminator
     
  4. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Thanks for your hint, but the picture is such crappy on games-mode, that it's unfortunately no option for me...(and additionally it don't seem to change lipsync for me neither)
     
  5. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Setting audio trough HDMI and SPDIF or whatever out from TV to amp?
    Seen some suggestions about that in various threads but no idea if that is the solution.
    I have sort of the same problem that you have and that is the path I'm planning....
     
  6. blub
    • Premium Supporter

    blub MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 1, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Physician
    Location:
    Giessen
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    My experience is that this lipsync feature is a pure load of crap.

    I have an onkyo 3010 and had a Samsung b series 8000 TV and it never worked :).(htpc and other sources)

    My advice:
    Let the htpc always output the same resolution I.e. 1080p

    User mpar audio renderer to output sound via PCM to your avr all the time for every audio format (except TV - works fine for me others report problems)

    Test your input lag of the TV and set the av sync on your avr to that

    Do that and you will be a happy man!

    Once you start bit-streaming one audio type and PCM for another type you will run into trouble because of different processing times - the same accounts if your output resolution changes.

    You can never adjust for a faulty out of sync video :)
     
  7. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Are you saying stop using dynamic refresh?
    Wont that make many videos "choppy when panning"? I used to have that problem but when dynamic refresh those all went away.
    Got a guide or something?
     
  8. blub
    • Premium Supporter

    blub MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 1, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Physician
    Location:
    Giessen
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I did not say that leave that. Leave dynamic refresh on

    Just stay always at the same resolution - but I think MP can't change resolution depending on source material anyways.
     
  9. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    My AV has no sync-setting at all ;-) And I cannot adjust it in LAV Audio Decoder because depending on source (Video, TV - even which channel/program) is different.

    So I now ordered a new Receiver and will see if it gets better...
     
  10. 4Fred
    • Premium Supporter

    4Fred MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 8, 2005
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jönköping
    Ratings:
    +51 / 2
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Before you do.. please try connecting the HTPC to the TV using HDMI and put sound trough HDMI to the TV. then output sound from TV to amp.
     
  11. blub
    • Premium Supporter

    blub MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 1, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Physician
    Location:
    Giessen
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Yeah thats you last hope - let you TV output the sound to your avr and hope the TV sends it in-sync with the displayed picture.

    Otherwise get a new avr
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!