Backup Setting - ErrorBackupFolder

Discussion in 'TV-Server Plugins' started by joEhSuper, January 15, 2020 at 20:19.

  1. joEhSuper
    • Premium Supporter

    joEhSuper MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2011
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    189
    Ratings:
    +293 / 3
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Hi!
    I'm feeling like a complete newbie today :confused:

    Since Years I'm using BackupSettings for my MP-Backups. Today I took a look at my backup directory and there I found, that that BackupSettings has stopped making backups. There is an directory <ErrorBackupFolder>

    Status.txt is attached
    My question is: What ist going wrong with backup or/and where can see what has gone wrong with backup?



    By the way... is it possible that there is no threat for BackupSettings ???
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...7/backupsettings-tv-server-media-portal-45715 leads to <not found>
     

    Attached Files:

    • Status.txt
      File size:
      5.7 KB
      Uploaded:
      Wednesday
      Views:
      5
    Last edited: January 15, 2020 at 20:31
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +1,005 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This plugin was created by @huha, who was last seen in October 2016. So I think that you can assume that this plugin is no longer maintained. If you cannot diagnose and fix the problem yourself, it is time to stop using this plugin. :(

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. joEhSuper
    • Premium Supporter

    joEhSuper MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2011
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    189
    Ratings:
    +293 / 3
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Thanks @CyberSimian
    Sad... :cry:
    May I ask you, how you backup MediaPortal??
     
  5. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9,034
    Likes Received:
    2,881
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,961 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    568
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +1,005 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Periodically I use the "Export" facility of "TV Server" to export all of the TV settings to a file on a different physical disk (in case it is the disk containing the C: drive that fails). This has to be done manually. :(

    I also copy a small number of other files that define my config, such as "MediaPortal.xml" (this contains all of the MP client settings), "Centarea HID.xml" (this contains the definitions for my Ortek/Hama remote control), plus the files for the skin that I use (because I keep modifying it :D). I do these manually, but you could write a BAT file to copy the specific files that you want to backup.

    I don't use any plugins such as "TV Series" or "TV Wishlist", but I imagine that they too have config files, which would need to be backed up (you could include them in the BAT file).

    I don't back up TV recordings on the HTPC, although the greater part of my "TV library" lives on a NAS which I set up with the version of RAID that preserves the data even with two failing disks.

    My CD collection does reside on the HTPC in the form of FLAC files, but they are duplicated on an external USB SSD which is plugged into my streamer (so effectively already backed up).

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. joEhSuper
    • Premium Supporter

    joEhSuper MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2011
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    189
    Ratings:
    +293 / 3
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
  8. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    728
    Ratings:
    +1,217 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @joEhSuper @CyberSimian
    I am a long term user of Backup Settings on my HTPC so I was a bit alarmed on reading this post. I therefore installed it on the MP1 TV Service on my desktop PC where I am testing MP1,24 pre, installation was problem free and it performed a backup without any apparent errors. I have not tried the scheduler and have no experience of that as I have only ever used the manual operation, usually prior to an update etc. but that aside everything seems to be OK.
    Are you using the scheduler and if yes, how does it look if you initiate a backup manually?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,626
    Likes Received:
    2,639
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,352 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  10. joEhSuper
    • Premium Supporter

    joEhSuper MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2011
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    189
    Ratings:
    +293 / 3
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Hi @joecrow
    Yes, the "ErrorBackupFolder" was created from scheduler. Meanwhile I think/hope :unsure: that I found the reason.
    It seems that the SDXC-Card on wich the Backup is created has some errors...

    At the moment I'm testing - I'll report later.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. joEhSuper
    • Premium Supporter

    joEhSuper MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 2, 2011
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    189
    Ratings:
    +293 / 3
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Yes - It was a problem of SDXC-Card.
     
    • Informative Informative x 4
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!