BBC1 HD Freezes Picture

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by maksta, August 4, 2015.

  1. maksta

    maksta New Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm hoping someone here can help me. I've been running MP for about a year now and I have had this problem since the outset. When watching TV all channels work perfectly except for BBC1 HD.

    When watching, the picture will freeze and the only way to get things moving again is to either stop the playback and re-select the channel or tune to another channel and immediately back to BBC1 HD. To be clear on this, the system remains stable and MP remains responsive.

    When doing either of these things the channel will behave itself for as long as you stay tuned to the channel. If you watch something on another channel for any length of time then go back to BBC1 HD the picture will freeze again. I can live with this but it means recording something on BBC1 HD is impossible.



    Sometimes it will go for 30 minutes+ before freezing and other times it will freeze within a minute. I have even had it play the channel for several hours before freezing.

    I have tried lots of different codecs with all sorts of different settings on the codec options screens. Codecs I have tried are- LAV Video Decoder, CoreAVC, ffdshow DXVA Video Decoder, ffdshow Video Decoder, Microsoft DTV-DVD Decoder and others. Nothing seems to make any difference to the problem, some codecs make it worse.

    I hope i've included all relevant information but happy to go over anything if unclear.

    Thanks in advance..
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Vasilich
    • Team MediaPortal

    Vasilich Test Group

    Joined:
    August 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Germany, Mayence
    Ratings:
    +1,172 / 2
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    what CPU usage is during watching BBC1 HD?
    have you activated DXVA for it? (in LAV i would recommend to set DXVA native)
    Possible thermal problem (overheating / insufficient cooling)?
    do you have other HD channels?
     
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It looks like you have reception problems - the TV server TsWriter log is full of 'continuity errors' when playback starts to have problems:

    Code (Text):
    1. [2015-08-04 08:37:09,102] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 7 ( prev 2 ) - bad signal?
    2. [2015-08-04 08:37:10,923] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 9 ( prev 6 ) - bad signal?
    3. [2015-08-04 08:37:12,567] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 9 ( prev 5 ) - bad signal?
    4. [2015-08-04 08:37:12,998] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 3 ( prev 0 ) - bad signal?
    5. [2015-08-04 08:37:13,004] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1519 Continuity error... 3 ( prev 1 ) - bad signal?
    6. [2015-08-04 08:37:13,620] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 6 ( prev 2 ) - bad signal?
    7. [2015-08-04 08:37:13,873] [7b41b38] [9a0] - Recorder:Pid 1518 Continuity error... 8 ( prev 4 ) - bad signal?
    8.  
    If you have another Freesat receiver e.g. TV or STB, does BBC1 HD work OK with that (connected to the same cable that feeds the PC tuner) ?

    It's *possible* that something else happening in the PC is affecting the tuner card - is the CPU load high when it starts to fail, or could the tuner card be getting too hot ?

    I'd update the graphics driver anyway, just in case - it looks like it's over a year old (easiest way is probably to use Intel's driver updater - http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect)
     
  5. maksta

    maksta New Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    CPU Running at about 17%, temp is 55C. I am pretty sure signal is fine as I can restart the channel after it freezes and it will work for ever until another channel change. Would this also rule out problem with tuner card?

    I will update Graphics driver and report back
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    It can be also hdd stress issue if i'm not wrong :)
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Your tuning parameters are suspicious:
    If you had scanned this channel in with TV Server, I'd have expected the modulation to be Mod8Psk rather than ModNotSet.

    Are you using and have you always used a standard version of TV Server?
     
  8. maksta

    maksta New Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Have always standard version of TV Server[DOUBLEPOST=1438677710][/DOUBLEPOST]
    How would I diagnose / Resolve this?[DOUBLEPOST=1438677879][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Updated to latest version of Graphics Driver and will post new log files as soon as issue is recreated using new driver
     
  9. maksta

    maksta New Member

    Joined:
    August 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Deleted channel and re-scanned specifying modulation as 8Psk2[DOUBLEPOST=1438679094][/DOUBLEPOST]
    CPU is about 17%, temp 55C. Other HD channels are fine. Have tried all settings for DXVA in LAV.
     
    Last edited: August 4, 2015
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Manually?
    I'd have suggested:
    1. Click "update tuning details".
    2. Full [automatic] rescan to correct all potential tuning detail problems.
    3. Post scan check that modulation has been corrected.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!