Black screen while trying to watch live TV on MediaPortal (1 Viewer)

shane041

Portal Member
September 4, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hey there,

Hoping someone can help me out. I've been using MediaPortal for a few months now and everything has been great until today. Now everything has gone dark and I can't figure out why. I've followed steps I found in other threads about a similar issue: letting everything through the firewall, turning off the firewall, reinstalling. different codecs, deleting firewall settings and reentering everything. Still black screen no matter what. Nothing has changed since this was working last night and from the TV Server Config it looks like it's getting the request from MediaPortal to change a tuner and even tunes to the right channel, but just still no sound no audio. Can anyone help? (Before the Eagles game would be amazing!)

Shane

JimCatMP

Documentation Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 1, 2010
    Leeds
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi

I'm a long long way from expert here, but suggest STOP TVserver, delete C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\timeshiftbuffer\live7-0.ts [actually, delete all the timeshift buffer files - they are ephemeral anyway], then restart TVServer - IF that makes difference, cool, if not, sorry - hope someone else can pitch in before the game.

TTFN - JCMP.

shane041

Portal Member
    September 4, 2015
    Home Country
    Hi

I'm a long long way from expert here, but suggest STOP TVserver, delete C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\timeshiftbuffer\live7-0.ts [actually, delete all the timeshift buffer files - they are ephemeral anyway], then restart TVServer - IF that makes difference, cool, if not, sorry - hope someone else can pitch in before the game.

TTFN - JCMP.

Hmm. Any reason why that folder would be completely empty?
    Edit: left MP running. Saw the files. Deleted and still no go.