BSOD when scanning channels analog Cable HVR-2255 (F111)

Discussion in 'General' started by kensiko, July 23, 2017.

  1. kensiko

    kensiko Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I have the exact same problem as here:
    BSOD when scanning channels analog Cable HVR-2255 (F111)

    And the solution provided in the link above seems to work, but for mediaportal 1.

    Can I have a TVLibrary.dll with VBI disabled for Media portal 2 ? I successfully used MP1 in the past and it was working fine but really laggy mainly for a remote client on LAN, and it seems to have been improved in MP2 so I would really like to give it a shot.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Cordraconis

    Cordraconis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 26, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Hmm, it has been a long time since I have read that thread (I had similar issues with my Hauppauge card - search the forum), but is this - how shall I put this - progress inhibiting?
    In other words, does it actually find some channels before the crash? I remember having to scan+crash 3 times untill it scanned the whole frequency range. Some channels were then detected 3 times, but I eventually done it the hard way and manually put in the freq of each channel, so technically scanning wasn't needed anymore.

    Tip: use the export function in the TvServer Configuration and make backups! A real life-saver after all the manual labour ;-)


    I'm doing home redecoration, so I *will* be unavailable for quite a while to reply... sorry.
     
  4. kensiko

    kensiko Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    I was able to scan about 120 channel when it crashed the first time, after that I get a bsod at channel 1
     
    Last edited: July 23, 2017
  5. Cordraconis

    Cordraconis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 26, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Hm, OK. So it crashes while scanning, but did it actually detect some channels? If you have a few of them, you can try to "zap" or switch between the ones you got and see if you can crash the system that way. With me they crashed/hanged after about 10 times switching/zapping and then I found out some channels were detected multiple times so I figured the cards got confused by this and I manually put all the frequencies just once there.

    I'll do a quick check, hang on:
    Go to TV Configuration > Channels and pick one in the "Channels" list and press "Edit"
    If you see the same channel multiple times, but with different ID's, then this does not help for stability.

    Read up on merged channels (you can combine the same channel in analog and digital version - which I have done), to get a grasp on what you can (possibly) see there.

    If possible, try to find a frequency list for your area and consider removing all channels and just adding them manually *once*.

    Also if I'm not mistaken, your card is a hybrid one, so make sure to set it up the right way: in the beginning after switching 3 times a channel, I couldn't watch anything anymore as all the tuners were busy since it thought I had 4 of them, while in reality there are only 2 chips. Maybe this can also help for (scanning)stability...

    I'll try to read up on your card and setup when I have more time, but maybe now you can get farther than before.
     
  6. Cordraconis

    Cordraconis Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 26, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Is it better with the tips?
    Your card and mine are almost identical: you have other (USA?)decoding capabilities and another type of connectors, but also 2 hybrid tuners, so a lot of my experiences are also valid for you.
     
  7. kensiko

    kensiko Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi, I didn't work on it since a week, was in vacations

    Envoyé de mon Nexus 4 en utilisant Tapatalk
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!