Can't connect to database

Discussion in 'fixed TV-Server / Client Bugs' started by kenneta, February 10, 2007.

  1. kenneta

    kenneta Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When connecting to my TvServer (that is on another computer) I get this:

    "Connected to TvServer, Unable to connect to database"

    If I run the client on the same computer as TvServer all works good, no error.



    TV server and mediaportal are latest SVN builds downloaded today.


    Any suggestions, settings in SQL server?

    TVserver runs on a Windows2003 server, English langue, region settings: Swedish
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. claudio_l2005

    claudio_l2005 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 21, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same here, ok locally, unable to connect to database from remote.
    Firewall disabled everywere
     
  4. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
  5. kenneta

    kenneta Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Configured, oh yes. I have followed the instructions videos. ANd I have now configured SQL server as link above this post suggested, but still no change. I can't connect to DB.
     
  6. rtv
    • Team MediaPortal

    rtv Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    301
    Occupation:
    CTO at ES2000
    Location:
    Osnabruck
    Ratings:
    +301 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Are ALL services of MSSQL running? If nothing helps try MySQL ;)
     
  7. Mike F.

    Mike F. Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Design
    Location:
    Oberwaltersdorf
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Same Error Message

    I have also the Message 'Connected to TvServer, unable to connect to DataBase'

    I think its because of a Timout.
    When I use the SQL Server Managment Console on 'Remote PC' I have to increase the Connection Timeout, to get Connection.

    I have also found, that Connection String in 'Gentle.Config' always contains the Server Name, even if i put IP-Addr. in TvPlugin Setup.

    mfg
    mike
     
  8. regeszter
    • Team MediaPortal

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,151 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    put into the client hosts file the server name + ip address
    may be a resolve issue
     
  9. kenneta

    kenneta Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well I started "SQL Browser" and it works :)

    How do the client comunicate to the server? If it's via a webservice or remoting then I don't see why I need SQL Browsing running.
     
  10. Mike F.

    Mike F. Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Design
    Location:
    Oberwaltersdorf
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Thanks

    hosts has solved it
     
  11. claudio_l2005

    claudio_l2005 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 21, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It works connecting using cabled LAN. Using wireless with my Linksys WRT54G it doesn't work.
    Probably Nat not help. I'll try to understand.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!