can't find tv stations by scanning on media portal

Discussion in 'General Support' started by divo, July 14, 2014.

  1. divo

    divo New Member

    Joined:
    July 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    I have the hauppauge win tv 885 using media portal with it.
    till now I used an analog cable and succeed to get the relevant tv stations.
    recently I stopped to use the analog cable and I'm trying to get the stations from my satellite converter, connecting the cable coming from it to the analog input of my tv card.
    I tried all kind of scans with media portal but couldn't receive anything.
    is there something I can do to receive it ?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  4. divo

    divo New Member

    Joined:
    July 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    sorry for the delay, I have been away for awhile.
    the cable is coax/RF. it's the only video input ( beside s-video) that I have in my tv card.
    I'm not sure that the problem is with media portal. one of the explains I've been told is that my tv card doesn't supports satellite signal .
    beside seatilite signal I have also the option of dvb-t signal.
    as for the log, when I open media portal folder I can't find a- mediaportal debug log.
    the only thing I can find is in c/program data/team media portal/mediaportal some folders and files.
    one of the folders called - "log" and there is several files inside it.
    the version of my media portal program is - 1.2.3.0
     
  5. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Server Logs = C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\log
    Client Logs = C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Log
     
  6. divo

    divo New Member

    Joined:
    July 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    trying to upload both files in both folders.
    first one is server logs
     

    Attached Files:

    • Configuration.bak
      File size:
      21 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      58
    • evr.bak
      File size:
      53 bytes
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      60
    • MediaPortal.bak
      File size:
      17.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      57
  7. divo

    divo New Member

    Joined:
    July 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    those are client logs.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Configuration.bak
      File size:
      21 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      54
    • evr.bak
      File size:
      53 bytes
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      52
    • MediaPortal.bak
      File size:
      17.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      60
    • Configuration.bak
      File size:
      21 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      58
    • evr.bak
      File size:
      53 bytes
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      65
    • MediaPortal.bak
      File size:
      17.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      60
    • Configuration.bak
      File size:
      21 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      59
    • evr.bak
      File size:
      53 bytes
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      58
    • MediaPortal.bak
      File size:
      17.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      58
  8. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\log
    There should be a
    SetupTv.log
    streaming server.Log
    TsWriter.log
    TVService.log
    and some error logs

    Looks like one of the posts you made was a duplicate of the Client logs
     
  9. divo

    divo New Member

    Joined:
    July 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    I'm trying again.
    I receive a massage that the error log is empty.
    I suppose that's why it didn't load it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • tv.bak
      File size:
      6.9 KB
      Uploaded:
      July 16, 2014
      Views:
      59
  10. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Did you run the Setup TV application?
    If you did, there should have been a Setup TV log file....

    in an effort to help, I am going to ask you check the link about and follow the instructions on capturing the logs. This way it will zip up everything needed for the dev's and others to help you. So far nothing I have seen shows any of the installed hardware and its configuration....
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello again divo

    A couple of things...

    1. In future please use the watchdog/debug-mode tool to gather your log files. It should make it easier for both you and us. The link I previously posted explains how to use it.
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/16_Support/3_Forums/2_Log_Files

    2. MP 1.2.3 was released more than 2 years ago and is now really outdated. It would be really good if you could update to MP 1.8.

    In relation to the problem/question...

    Okay. RF is the last option that I'd chose. Anything including s-video is better than that. Please change to s-video if possible.

    With your current TV tuner you'll only be able to receive one "channel" which is the output from the set top box. In other words, you'll only see the channel that the satellite converter has selected.

    The same limitation applies for both RF and s-video.

    Another way to say it: scanning for channels will not find all the channels that your satellite package/lineup includes.

    There is a way to set up MediaPortal to control your satellite converter... but it is complex, and other people wouldn't be able to use the satellite converter with the TV at the same time.

    DVB-T won't help you.

    Regards,
    mm
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!