can't read any video files

Discussion in 'General' started by mrgreth, July 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. mrgreth

    mrgreth New Member

    Joined:
    July 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    France France
    Hi all,
    I just installed MP2.. all my MP3 a working fine.
    But I can't watch a movie (.avi or .mkv or .mp4)... I tried to install more codecs, but still no difference...

    I tried MP1 too, same problem... can't watch a movie.


    if you have an idea...




    thanks by advance
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. FiftyFour##

    FiftyFour## Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Hi,

    I have the same issue. My TV, Recordings, Music and photos play, but my MP4 videos do not play. I submitted my logs, but I haven't heard back yet.
    Did you fix it? If so, how?
     
    Last edited: August 13, 2016
  4. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,041
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,278 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    The worst thing you can do is to install codec packages, usually they mess up everything.
    MP2 has all codes included you need to play videos. I'd recommend to deinstall all codecs, perhaps also with a regcleaner.
    After that make a clean installation of MP2.
     
  5. FiftyFour##

    FiftyFour## Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Hi,
    Thanks for your quick response. I haven't installed any codecs, although the app Windows DVD Player came pre-installed on my machine Lennie. I should have said that on my HTPC AKA 'Home' device, I can play my video files, which also has the Windows DVD player app. The Windows DVD Player can allows me to play my movies although its not as slick as MP2 Client it will do.
     
  6. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Can you upload log files?
     
  7. FiftyFour##

    FiftyFour## Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Sorry ge2301,
    You are correct. I found in Settings/Players/Codecs/Video Codecs/MPEG4 Codecs that I have 4 codecs on Lennie. The LAV codec for MP2, a Microsoft Codec for the Windows DVD player and 2 MainConcept codecs. My guess is that the MainConcept codecs were installed by Adobe Premiere Elements. I won't be removing Adobe Premiere Elements, but I appreciate your help.

    Hi mrgreth,
    If you follow the path above you may find codecs that are conflicting with MP2 LAV codec. I can confirm the LAV codec does not conflict with the Microsoft Codec used by the Windows DVD player app, because on another laptop the MP2 Client is working perfectly!!
     
  8. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,755
    Likes Received:
    2,142
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,597 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    In your other post I've answered already, but here I read you are using Premiere. Premiere don't need Mainconcept Codec to work.

    As a test you can do the following:
    Open a Command prompt and type this line:

    C:\Windows\system32\regsvr32.exe -u "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Elements 11\32\mc_dec_mp2v_ds.ax"

    and press "enter". Maybe you need to change the path to your needs

    and then:

    rename "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Elements 11\32\mc_dec_mp2v_ds.ax" "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Elements 11\32\mc_dec_mp2v_ds.ax.bak"

    and press enter again. This should disable the mainconcept codec without uninstalling Premiere.

    If you want the codec back you have to rename the file back to it's original name and register it again. This is achieved with the same line like the first one above but without the -u after regsvr32.exe
     
  9. FiftyFour##

    FiftyFour## Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 31, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!