client/server hardware dilema

Discussion in 'Mainboards / CPU / RAM' started by SlotcarMAG, August 12, 2013.

  1. SlotcarMAG

    SlotcarMAG New Member

    Joined:
    August 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi all I'm very new (2 days) to having media portal running on my current tower machine and I must say I like it the overall smoothness is nice compared to xbmc anyhow I digress my question is this

    My current system sits in a large tower beside my TV unit and I like the idea idea of putting it in an htpc case and getting it under the TV however I'm not sure if the specs are OK for this purpose they are

    Gigabyte Ga-ma785gmt-ud2h motherboard with atiradeon 4200 onboard
    3gh and athlon all x2 250
    4gb crucial ballistic ddr3

    Would these be a good base for my main htpc which would need to feed my current library plus and downloads to at least 2 other PCs in my home and possibly to my tablet.

    I'd like to add ablu ray drive to that mix when I build the main htpc to replace my ps3 drive so it needs to be able to cope with that and also it'll be on probably 24/7 so not sure if I need more energy efficient parts.

    My apologies if I've rambled but hopefully somebody has followed where I'm going.



    Thanks scm
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    290
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    why don't you just keep the tower and put it in a closet, or office, to use as a dedicated server, then pop a small footprint client in the living room as your HTPC you can add an external BR easy (although mine is internal)... this is the direction I'm going
     
    Last edited: August 12, 2013
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    the hd4200 onboard is a bit slow but can be ok. is this hardware you already own? what res is tv. do you want to play 1080i. is the ram 1x4 or 2x2? will you play live tv/recorded tv or just videos.
     
    Last edited: August 12, 2013
  5. SlotcarMAG

    SlotcarMAG New Member

    Joined:
    August 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Ideally I'd like to reuse the stated items for a server/client due to power consumption I'm trying to limit the amount of devices that are on constantly.
    Also my finances are limited hence building the 2 in 1 and reusing the bits from my tower.[DOUBLEPOST=1376326412][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Its my current main tower PC that im considering canabalising for the main server/client.
    My TV is an lg full HD 32inch .
    The ram is 2 sticks currently.
    I would like it to be able to play pretty much anything I throw at it as for livetv I like the idea of getting rid of my sky box and running it through the htpc so yes that will happen at some point but probably just downloaded and ripped movies and TV to start with.
     
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    yes it will be fine buy case that has space for addon video card. go without addon at first if problems add hd6450 6570 7750 depending ob budget. i think you will get away with hd4200 if not watching 1080i... just make sure case can take video card if needed. the hd4200 performs better with dual channel ram that's why i asked.[DOUBLEPOST=1376326555][/DOUBLEPOST]whenyou add live tv you will probably need to add video card.[DOUBLEPOST=1376326639][/DOUBLEPOST]ps. if u were buying new on a budget i would tell u to buy amd a6-5400k whichis cheap and very fast onboard video.
     
  7. SlotcarMAG

    SlotcarMAG New Member

    Joined:
    August 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I do have a geforce 7800 card but it only has dvi which im not a fan of.[DOUBLEPOST=1376327079][/DOUBLEPOST]If I had the finances I'd start from scratch and keep this desktop for all my general PC stuff but currently don't think that's viable.
     
  8. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    use hd4200 youwill have to buy a card when / if time comes....
     
  9. SlotcarMAG

    SlotcarMAG New Member

    Joined:
    August 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Cool any recommendations for cases that will take that mb and possible future cards.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: August 12, 2013
  10. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    antec 2408 is cheapish. my htpc is huge and pricey. just dont buy anything with imon or soundgraph inside it. their remotes are a bitch to get going with mediaportal.
     
  11. quake2rambo
    • Premium Supporter

    quake2rambo MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 18, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sysadmin
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi. This hardware I kicked out years ago because there was not enough power for modern skins. Check your framerate with your favorite skin and decide yourself.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!