Client to TV Server connection issue (1 Viewer)

Anthony Vaughan

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 25, 2015
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hello

I have installed Media Portal 1.11 server on a Windows 8 machine using SQL Server as the database. I also installed the client on that machine so I could test MediaPortal.

I installed the client on a Windows 8.1 machine and declared the server in the Configuration application and tested the connection successfully.

However, when I run MediaPortal on the client machine and try to view the guide, the TV Set-up page comes up asking me "Please specify the IP address or host name".

I am new to MediaPortal - I have been a Windows Media Center user for years - and would appreciate any advice about why the configuration might be connecting okay but I cannot use MediaPortal remotely.

Thanks you in advance.

Tony

Pauly D

Portal Member
    June 26, 2015
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    Hi Tony,

The Host name is the name of your computer. In windows find the Computer Properties and get your computer name. Then go back and enter it into MP. I am not currently at my HTPC , but I think after you enter it it will tell you if it connects to the database ok.

Anthony Vaughan

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 25, 2015
    Home Country
    Hi Pauli

Thanks you for your reply.

I have entered the TV server's computer name in the MediaPortal Configuration application and it said it connected okay.

My problem is that when I run the MediaPortal client, it doesn't seem to connect properly and displays the TV Set-up page.

Any ideas?

Tony

Anthony Vaughan

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 25, 2015
    Home Country
    Hello

Thank you for your help.

I have recorded my test system configuration in my profile and attach the log file.

I hope this helps.

Thanks again.

Tony

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country