Cloning GIT Repository...

Discussion in 'General Development (no feature request here!)' started by JJDoherty, April 9, 2014.

  1. JJDoherty
    • Premium Supporter

    JJDoherty MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 10, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Hope someone can help me with an issue, which is probably something simple that I have overlooked.



    I have cloned the main GIT repository successfully however I have ran into an issue with getting the sub-modules as described under "Get the submodules (e.g. libbluray)" as described here in the wiki. The following error message is what is appearing when attempting to update the sub-modules with "Recursive" checked:

    upload_2014-4-9_16-37-37.png

    Any help would be appreciate, as always...
     
    Last edited: April 9, 2014
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,215 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  4. JJDoherty
    • Premium Supporter

    JJDoherty MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 10, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Yes, well the thing is I was able to download or rather "clone" the repository prior to attempting to update the sub-modules using the "Update Submodules" context menu option, so is it probable that the connection is at issue?
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    You don't need the libbluray submodule (there are no others) to do TV Server development/debugging. I would ignore this and proceed.
     
  6. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
  7. JJDoherty
    • Premium Supporter

    JJDoherty MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 10, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Hi @regeszter, I selected "Git Sync..." from the context menu in the main repository folder on my PC and then within the "Git Synchronization" I clicked the "Pull" button, which seemed to succeed, see the screenshot below:

    upload_2014-4-10_9-38-29.png

    Does this help? Any ideas as to why I am unable to update the submodules?

    @mm1352000, thanks for the suggestion, that is probably what I'll do but I would still like to get the sunmodules updated too. On a side note, I can't seem to find any information on how I should create a branch in GIT. I see the there is a "manage" button beside the "Remote URL", is this what I use to create a new branch to sync to on the GIT MP respository if I'd like to check-in any changes to the software I make?

    Thanks all...
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Well, then you should investigate connectivity with the repository.
    Can you see this?
    http://git.1f0.de/gitweb?p=libbluray.git;a=summary;js=1

    If so, I don't know why you wouldn't be able to access the submodule.

    You (and other non-team-members) don't have permission to commit directly to our git repository. Normally one would fork our repository to your own account, create the branch in your fork, then submit a pull request against our repository.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. JJDoherty
    • Premium Supporter

    JJDoherty MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 10, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Yep, I can see that and I've had no problem getting the MP GIT repository of using the "Git Synchronization" tool either!

    Ah right, think I've got it! I'll give it a bash maybe so. If you have a step-by-step on that it would be really useful. If not it's grand, I'll see what I can manage myself. Thanks so much for the help so far...
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    https://help.github.com/articles/creating-a-pull-request

    Okay. AFAIK sync has nothing helpful to offer you when it comes to solving this problem.
    What happens when you right click on the MediaPortal-1 folder, go to the git sub-menu and select "submodule update"?
    [Assumption: you're using tortoise git like me.]
     
  11. JJDoherty
    • Premium Supporter

    JJDoherty MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 10, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +50 / 2
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    That's great, thanks for the link.

    Yep I'm using Tortoise GIT too and I have tried the context menu "Submodule Update...", you can see what happened in my first post of the thread here, thanks again...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!