Colour temperature changes as soon as MP starts up.

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Richardbstard, July 22, 2016.

  1. Richardbstard

    Richardbstard Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I have been using Mediaportal for years and never had any major issues.
    All of a sudden today the colour has got a strong yellow/gold tint which is unwatchable. It is nothing to do with my monitor or Windows 10 settings as the colours are fine on my desktop and video files play in the correct colour temperature when using VLC or Windows media player.
    When Media portal starts up the main menu looks fine for a split second and then the colour temperature switches to the horrible warm tint. I can't find any settings in Mediaportal configuration that amend this problem.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Did you change something in your PC hardware or software configuration that could be causing this?
    You will need to provide logs and informations about your hardware configuration too (TV/Monitor/GPU models)
     
  4. Richardbstard

    Richardbstard Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Thanks for your reply.
    I haven't made any configuration changes which is what's so strange about this problem.
    I have uploaded a log file as requested. Thanks again!
     
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Try updating your video drivers maybe.
     
  6. Richardbstard

    Richardbstard Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    The video drivers are up to date.
    Colours are fine on the PC and they are fine for a second when MP first opens but then it switches to the strange warm tint which makes greens look yellow etc.
    It has to be a MP issue. Are there any hidden settings in MP that relate to colour temperature? I have been going insane trying to find something.
    It's so weird... there's no mention of this issue in any forums either.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I don't agree. It could be something like a deep colour (8 bit vs. 10 bit colour setting) or chroma coding (4:2:0 vs. 4:2:2) setting on the TV that is set to auto when it shouldn't be. You were asked but didn't mention what TV/display model you have...
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I should have answered...
    No, none that I'm aware of. However NVidia drivers have per-application profiles don't they? If yes and you checked the display settings while MP wasn't running, you may not have seen the settings for the profile that NVidia is applying for MP. The colour settings in whatever profile NVidia is using for MP (which MP has nothing to do with) could be borked.

    Also a question: what happens if you use windowed mode? (ALT + ENTER toggles MP between full screen and windowed modes.)
     
  9. Richardbstard

    Richardbstard Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I'm using a Changhong 60" LED monitor which settings haven't been changed at any point.
    I tried toggling between full screen and windowed mode to no avail.
    I also went trough all the Nvidia settings and unfortunately there are no per application settings.
    It looks like I am going to have to try the worst case scenario of uninstalling MP and then reinstalling it...
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay. You keep saying that nothing has changed, but something must have changed in order for the problem to start. Problems don't just happen for no reason. For example, I can see that W10 automatically installed updates at about 8 AM on 22 July.

    I didn't think toggling would fix it. I wanted to know what would happen in windowed mode. For example, would the desktop and other applications have the correct hue and MP have the yellowish hue, or would everything have the yellowish hue, or would nothing have the yellowish hue.

    Please describe in more detail, or even better: provide screenshots.

    I struggle to believe this. Although I don't own an NVidia card myself, I'm aware they have profiles:
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/profiles.html

    Please double-check.

    Feel free to try anything you think will help. Personally I don't think the problem has anything to MP.
     
  11. Richardbstard

    Richardbstard Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 22, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Sorry, i'm not trying to offend anyone. I love MPand constantly try to convert people into using it, and I really appreciate your help.
    My limited skills tell me that if everything works fine, (colour wise) outside of MP then it must be an MP problem.
    This 'W10' update you speak of has me intrigued though because that is about the time this problem occurred. Do you know what W10 is?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!