Communication Breakdown between Client and TV Server in Single-Seat Installation

Discussion in 'General Support' started by rsbrux, August 19, 2017.

  1. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Since installing MP 1.17 single seat over a fresh installation of Windows 7 Pro SP1, I occasionally have error messages when opening the EPG in MP client, complaining that the server cannot be found. Changing the MP client configuration to use 127.0.0.1 instead of the computer name does not seem to help. The error messages further complain that MP client cannot connect to the TV Server DB because port 554 is blocked by the Windows 7 firewall, but I do not see how that can be a factor in a single-seat installation. Even if it were, all MP components have inbound firewall rules allowing them access to all ports via both TCP and UDP. Furthermore the wiki page on Firewall Settings says:
    If you use Windows Firewall in Windows 7, you should not need to open any ports manually for normal operation.
    I now have a default installation using SQLite. Logs are attached.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello

    That's non-standard and therefore not supported. I wouldn't normally make a fuss about such things, but in this case the problem seems to be directly related to your database connection customisation:
    So, I'm sorry to say that I can't help you.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the quick response. I just ran the installer without changing anything, and am only assuming that SQLite is the default. What is the default DB now for a single-seat installation? I previously had MS SQL Server and used the Backup Settings plugin to restore some of my settings. Could that be the cause of the problems?
    What confuses me most is that everything works as expected most of the time.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes for MP2; no for MP1.
    Options for MP1 are SQL Server and MySQL. Nothing else is supported.

    MySQL if you do a non-advanced install (ie. MP installer installs the DB).

    Maybe... or maybe you've been mucking around with MP2?

    Sure, that can be the case with any problem.
     
  6. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Then I presumably have My SQL, at least for MP1. I installed MP2 before MP1, but have deactivated all of its services. Could it still be causing problems?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I wouldn't make such assumptions. Instead I'd recommend you actually check what's installed. ;)

    Yes, always.
     
  8. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    How can I do that?
    I don't find any indication in TV Server Configuration which DB is being used.
    The installation log tells me only:
    [ INFO] Database: D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Database​
    Here are the files I find in that directory:
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\MusicDatabaseV13.db3"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\FolderDatabase3.db3"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\VideoDatabaseV5.db3"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\PictureDatabase.db3"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\LyricsDatabaseV2.db"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\OnlineVideoDatabase.db3"
    "D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database\LyricsMarkedDatabaseV2.db"​
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Check whether the MySQL service is included in the list of Windows services.
    How To Start, Stop or Disable Services in Windows 7

    You're looking at the MediaPortal install log, which is not right. The database is associated with TV Server, so if you were going to be looking at an install log (note: I'm not saying that looking at the install log would be useful) then you ought to look at the TV Server install log.

    Same as above: you're looking at MediaPortal instead of TV Server. That directory and the files inside it are irrelevant to the problem at hand.
     
  10. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    services.msc shows MySQL as "started"

    No, the file I quoted from is:
    D:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\log\install_1.17.0.0_2017-08-08_18-29-24.log​
    The complete file is attached.

    P.S. After a reboot, evertything works normally again. However, this has already happened a few times.
     
    Last edited: August 20, 2017
  11. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Embarassingly enough, I overlooked the most obvious possible cause of this behavior. It's not a communication problem; TV Server is crashing!
    The error logs (attached) show repeated exceptions in the DVB EPG timer. However, the immedaite cause appears to be something which is not recorded in the error logs (see TVService.1.log)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!