Comskip does not work on recorded TV (1 Viewer)

Skywizard

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 14, 2015
    Canberra
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    I am new to MP - I have installed MP (some weeks ago now) and configured ComSkip but it does not seem to be working..... I realise that the standard version will only do standard definition. I was surprised when I was watching a RecTV show and wow - out of the blue, it skipped the ads - I love it - it was only on one show and does not do it all the time. So I donated and got the full version that does HD - I have now configured that as per the Wiki but it still does not detect and skip the ads. I did a test in the TV Server config and found that worked fine so I thought u-beaut here we go no more ads on RecTV so I set a few recordings - no ad skipping at all on 2 channels that I tried.

What do I need to check. All that I have read in essence says to unzip the comskip file and place the unzipped contents/folder into the Program Files folder and then enable Comskip in the TV Server config and point TVserver to the comskip.exe file and that seems to be it - I have the comskip country (Aust) specific .ini file in that folder too.

Do I need to post the error log?

RonD

Test Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • December 20, 2011
    SillyValley CA
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    on comskip setup I'd suggest doing the following, this info is really at the bottom of the comskip wiki, Troubleshooting section
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ver_Configuration/13_Plugins/ComSkip_Launcher

1. After setting path to comskip.exe use the test option press "..." to open a file browser, select a test YourShow.ts file and run a test. In some cases there is a windows "security popup" asking are you sure you want to run comskip. Use something small like 15-30 minutes so it gets done quickly.