Comskip does not work on recorded TV

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Skywizard, August 20, 2015.

  1. Skywizard
    • Premium Supporter

    Skywizard MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    I am new to MP - I have installed MP (some weeks ago now) and configured ComSkip but it does not seem to be working..... I realise that the standard version will only do standard definition. I was surprised when I was watching a RecTV show and wow - out of the blue, it skipped the ads - I love it - it was only on one show and does not do it all the time. So I donated and got the full version that does HD - I have now configured that as per the Wiki but it still does not detect and skip the ads. I did a test in the TV Server config and found that worked fine so I thought u-beaut here we go no more ads on RecTV so I set a few recordings - no ad skipping at all on 2 channels that I tried.

    What do I need to check. All that I have read in essence says to unzip the comskip file and place the unzipped contents/folder into the Program Files folder and then enable Comskip in the TV Server config and point TVserver to the comskip.exe file and that seems to be it - I have the comskip country (Aust) specific .ini file in that folder too.

    Do I need to post the error log?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Please post full log files (as always, when asking for help). Watchdog option 3 ("export...") in this case. :)
     
  4. RonD
    • Team MediaPortal

    RonD Test Group

    Joined:
    December 20, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    119
    Occupation:
    semi-pro slacker
    Location:
    SillyValley CA
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    on comskip setup I'd suggest doing the following, this info is really at the bottom of the comskip wiki, Troubleshooting section
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ver_Configuration/13_Plugins/ComSkip_Launcher

    1. After setting path to comskip.exe use the test option press "..." to open a file browser, select a test YourShow.ts file and run a test. In some cases there is a windows "security popup" asking are you sure you want to run comskip. Use something small like 15-30 minutes so it gets done quickly.

    2. make sure you use Manual Control to stop/start the TV Service so comskip is auto-runs at the end of each recording. see
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ion/TV-Server_Configuration/11_Manual_Control
     
  5. Skywizard
    • Premium Supporter

    Skywizard MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    1 Yes I did that I got a file and it ran through it and marked the ads. That is why I was getting all excited.....

    2 I do not know quite what you mean here. I saw that the TV service has to be stopped/ started after editing - I did that through Task manager (And I have since done that again moments ago in the TV server config....

    I was able to start the time shifting and record as per the WiKi...[DOUBLEPOST=1440128596][/DOUBLEPOST]

    Here attached is the log export... Thanks
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    TV Server seems to be launching ComSkip at the start of your recordings:

    [2015-08-20 16:33:16,576] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\Recorded TV\SBS HD\The Sixties\The Sixties - 2015-08-20 - The British Invasion.ts on SBS HD), launching program (C:\Program Files\comskip_donators\comskip.exe "E:\Recorded TV\SBS HD\The Sixties\The Sixties - 2015-08-20 - The British Invasion.ts" -t) ...
    [2015-08-20 16:58:12,689] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\Recorded TV\Ten News - SC10 Canberra - 2015-08-20.ts on SC10 Canberra), launching program (C:\Program Files\comskip_donators\comskip.exe "E:\Recorded TV\Ten News - SC10 Canberra - 2015-08-20.ts" -t) ...
    [2015-08-20 17:58:04,888] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\Recorded TV\Seven News - PRIME7 Canberra - 2015-08-20.ts on PRIME7 Canberra), launching program (C:\Program Files\comskip_donators\comskip.exe "E:\Recorded TV\Seven News - PRIME7 Canberra - 2015-08-20.ts" -t) ...
    [2015-08-20 18:23:14,112] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\Recorded TV\7mate Canberra\Mythbusters\Mythbusters - 2015-08-20 - Ninja Bullet Slap _ Tire Breathing _ Rule of Thumb _ RFID.ts on 7mate Canberra), launching program (C:\Program Files\comskip_donators\comskip.exe "E:\Recorded TV\7mate Canberra\Mythbusters\Mythbusters - 2015-08-20 - Ninja Bullet Slap _ Tire Breathing _ Rule of Thumb _ RFID.ts" -t) ...
    [2015-08-20 19:58:01,061] [Log ] [scheduler thread] [INFO ] - ComSkipLauncher: Recording started (E:\Recorded TV\ABC\Who's Been Sleeping In My House_\Who's Been Sleeping In My House_ - 2015-08-20 - S3 - E4 - Bundaberg.ts on ABC), launching program (C:\Program Files\comskip_donators\comskip.exe "E:\Recorded TV\ABC\Who's Been Sleeping In My House_\Who's Been Sleeping In My House_ - 2015-08-20 - S3 - E4 - Bundaberg.ts" -t) ...

    As far as TV Server is concerned, once we've launched ComSkip that is the end of our responsibility. Given the above log entries it looks like we're doing that. So, I suggest you check for ComSkip log files etc. or any other indications that ComSkip may be failing for any reason.
     
  7. Skywizard
    • Premium Supporter

    Skywizard MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Canberra
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    OK thanks that is good to know that it is starting ...
     
  8. RonD
    • Team MediaPortal

    RonD Test Group

    Joined:
    December 20, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    119
    Occupation:
    semi-pro slacker
    Location:
    SillyValley CA
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    while watching a recorded video, you can use the "Actions" menu to see if the recording has chapters created by comskip

    comskip also has files, use windows folder explorer/browser to go to your Recordings folder and you should find, (Hannibal example)

    Hannibal - 2015-08-08 - And the Woman Clothed in Sun.ts # recording file
    Hannibal - 2015-08-08 - And the Woman Clothed in Sun.log # comskip log. lots of gory details
    Hannibal - 2015-08-08 - And the Woman Clothed in Sun.txt # comskip "skip locations" for start/end of commercial

    my log file starts with
    ################################################################
    Generated using Comskip 0.81.056
    Time at start of run:
    Sat Aug 01 23:01:19 2015

    ends with
    111689 Frames Processed
    ################################################################
    Time at end of run:
    Sat Aug 01 23:14:17 2015

    the skip location file shows the following "frames" for start/end of commercial, for USA (60hz) divide by 30 (use 25 for 50 hz power grid)
    FILE PROCESSING COMPLETE 111688 FRAMES AT 2997
    -------------------
    31 2373
    15365 21875
    32563 37221
    52734 59993
    68122 71771
    88238 94176
    107671 111718
     
  9. gonzo90017

    gonzo90017 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 3, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +25 / 2
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    You can also check to see if comskip is running using Task Manager. Start a recording then open up Task Manager to see if comskip.exe is running.
     
  10. Gregor07

    Gregor07 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 31, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have the same problem: comskip works when I test it. But after the recording the file *.txt remains empty.
     
  11. RonD
    • Team MediaPortal

    RonD Test Group

    Joined:
    December 20, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    119
    Occupation:
    semi-pro slacker
    Location:
    SillyValley CA
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    hard to say what causes comskip problems without logs. Suggest you try the following

    1. Use TV Server Config, ManualControl to Stop, wait a few seconds, then Start to restart the TV Server. Some settings need a restart to become fully active. Or just reboot. see http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ion/TV-Server_Configuration/11_Manual_Control

    2. After doing a restart, make a test recording that should run ComSkip. In your post indicate the name of the show you recorded "TestShow", upload the log files (use option 3), also go to your recording folder and look for/upload the ComSkip log file. For example, when the recording is done you should have TestShow.ts (N*GB recording file) and a TestShow.log file that ComSkip generates when it runs. Also upload the TestShow.log file so we can see if ComSkip is seeing problems. See the following for log file info

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-and-fill-in-system-specs-for-support.118424/

    use option 3 http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/Forum/How_to_post_logs
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!