Confused by different EPG types - Use digiguide? (1 Viewer)

Bond28

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • November 27, 2011
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi
    I am still learning MP and trying to get it configured to my liking. Sorry for all the newbie questions.
    I don't fully understand the EPG and grabbing data.
    I currently have an EPG guide but don't know what type. My problem with it is that I can't get UK DVB-T2 HD channel guide data. It is just a load of symbols.
    I have tried the solution here https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...eview-hd-card-uk-85404/index4.html#post785496 and stopped the tuner and refreshed the guide data but still nothing.

I don't mind paying for digiguide. How do I begin to set this up?

Thanks

Paul

trevor

Portal Pro
    October 17, 2006
    Chelmsford
    Home Country
    Hi
    I am still learning MP and trying to get it configured to my liking. Sorry for all the newbie questions.
    I don't fully understand the EPG and grabbing data.
    I currently have an EPG guide but don't know what type. My problem with it is that I can't get UK DVB-T2 HD channel guide data. It is just a load of symbols.
    I have tried the solution here https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...eview-hd-card-uk-85404/index4.html#post785496 and stopped the tuner and refreshed the guide data but still nothing.

I don't mind paying for digiguide. How do I begin to set this up?

Thanks

Paul

Hi Paul,

This is easy enough to setup but you do need grab a couple of extra programs.

First off grab a copy of XMLTV GUI from here

XMLTV GUI

Follow the steps in the XMLTV wiki here

UK Digi - XMLTVDoc

You will need to set up Digiguide with the channels you need

Note: the DG2XML skin for Digiguide is no longer avaiable from the location mentioned so I have attached it to here.

After you have done all the above you should have a file named TvGuide.xml (or whatever you called it when you setup XMLTV GUI).